Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

LOL@SCAMMER!

This was in my mailbox this morning, from a name I recognize. Fortunately, I have heard of this scam before – often the name used is that of a family member. The scammer captures someone’s e-mail and use it to contact all contacts with this message. Of course, the real individual has not been mugged, has all his cash and is doing fine, while we wire money to the scammer. NOT!

I hope you don’t take offense in my sudden approach for help. I took a
trip this week to Limassol, Cyprus and was attacked and robbed. My
belongings including my cash, credit card and cell phones were all
stolen. I’ve made contact with my bank but the best they can do is to
mail me a new card which will take 7 working days to arrive here, am
currently concluding my documentation at the embassy so i can fly out.
I need you to lend me some funds to settle some bills.

Please let me know if you can assist me in anyway so i can forward you
details to effect a transfer. Waiting for your mail.

Thanks,

Clive

December 10, 2012 - Posted by | Cultural, Lies, Scams |

2 Comments »

  1. I’ve had the same type of messages as well. The interesting thing is that the odd language always gives it away, and the fact that your friend or family member would have different ways to contact you if they ever really were in trouble. I always wonder if people really fall for this sort of scam.

    Comment by Miss Footloose | Life in the Expat Lane | December 11, 2012 | Reply

  2. Sometimes the language, sometimes the punctuation . . . but some of them are getting very good, Ms. Footloose, have you noticed?

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 11, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 455 other followers

