Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Pecans From Texas – Such Generosity!

When I was living in Kuwait, and my son married, one of my new daughter-in-law’s aunts sent me pecans from Texas. She didn’t just send me a pound or two, she sent like 15 pounds of pecans! It was a wondrous gift, and oh, we had pecan muffins, pecan date pies, pecans in everything. Pecans in Kuwait cost dear, you can’t imagine, and these pecans were TASTY, so so good. She tells me it is because they are from Texas, where everything tastes better. ;-)

00ARPecans

At Thanksgiving, she gave me a HUGE bag of pecan meats.

“I want you to have pecans from TEXAS!” she told me. Her car was packed with sweet gifts for all her nieces and nephews and all the little ones related to her in any remote way. It’s just the way she is. She can’t help it, she is wired to be loving and generous.

AR, I am so thankful you are in my life! I am enjoying every cup of pecans I use, and although I have used a lot, there are so many pecans left it is like I haven’t used any! You are so generous, and I am enjoying your pecans so much! All of Pensacola is enjoying your pecans!

December 17, 2012 - Posted by | Character, Charity, Cultural, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Food, Interconnected, Living Conditions, Local Lore, Thanksgiving, Travel | ,

5 Comments »

  1. When I lived overseas, my favorite treat was for visiting friends to bring me chocolate. They had to guard it closely to keep it from melting, and I really appreciated the effort.

    Comment by Traci | December 17, 2012 | Reply

    • Did you come back to the USA with large suitcases, to be filled with your favorites to take back? I remember chocolate chips, special make up supplies, quilting supplies, and of course, shoes and clothing that fit.

      When we lived in Jordan, we asked them to bring iceburg lettuce, and burrito wrappers, and it was a great excuse for a huge Mexican themed party when they arrived :-)

      What did you miss the most?

      Comment by intlxpatr | December 17, 2012 | Reply

      • There were days I would have donated a kidney for a bacon, egg and cheese biscuit.

        Comment by Traci | December 17, 2012

      • LOL!

        Comment by intlxpatr | December 17, 2012

  2. [...] I was making a salad to go with today’s lunch and remembered AdventureMan warning me we were just about out of roasted pecans, and needed more. It is a cool – almost cold – rainy rainy day in Pensacola, a perfect day for cranking up the oven to roast some pecans. We still have a wealth of pecans from a generous donation made by my dear daughter-in-law’s Texas aunt, who …. [...]

    Pingback by Luxurious Blessing « Here There and Everywhere | January 16, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 447 other followers

