Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Music Brings Alzheimer’s Patients Into the Moment

I saw this video over the Christmas holiday, and I can’t forget it. I know one of the reasons I love water aerobics is that they play all this rock music of my generation, and it gets us working hard, some even sing along, belting out the lyrics, LLOOLLL, I’m sure we look ridiculous, but oh, we have a great time and it makes exercise time pass more quickly.

This video shows the dramatic effect familiar music has on Alzheimer’s patients, bringing them out of their fog, however briefly, and animating them once again:

December 26, 2012 - Posted by | Aging, Circle of Life and Death, Civility, Experiment, Family Issues, Generational, Music | ,

8 Comments »

  1. The one thing that would get thru to my mother-in-law was hymns. Altho she was not a churchgoer as an adult, she was as a child and the hymns would reach her and she would sing.

    Comment by momcatwa | December 28, 2012 | Reply

  2. What a lovely memory, Momcat :-) You know all her early years and church-going lived on in her heart.

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 28, 2012 | Reply

  3. We saw this several times this year while singing carols to some of our church members who are generally unresponsive…I think “Silent Night” must be so deeply embedded in our hearts that it never ceases to move us!

    Comment by Grammy | December 28, 2012 | Reply

  4. You are so right, Grammy. I am pretty tough, but those Christmas night services, far from home, Silent Night made we cry. Even now, if we are in a service where it is sung in different languages, it makes me cry. I think you are right, it is wired deep in our hearts . . . :-) Will you sing it to me if I lose my mind?

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 28, 2012 | Reply

  5. Of course I will sing it for you, unless MY mind goes first! I may be heading down that road in fact…have felt a little crazy as I’ve been bustling around trying to take Christmas down while packing for our trip to Q. But I could not ber the idea of coming home mid January and then having to deal with decorations! Will call to ” debrief” when we are back!

    Comment by Grammy | December 29, 2012 | Reply

  6. Safe and happy travels, dear one! What a great time of the year to be going . . . . oops, I hope I am not exercising my evil eye!

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 29, 2012 | Reply

  7. This is a wonderful post. The video brings tears to my eyes. Another film clip which have found inspiring is “I Remember Better When I Paint” about how art and creativity can help people with Alzheimer’s.

    Comment by sunnieday | December 31, 2012 | Reply

  8. Thank you, Sunnie, that is a GREAT video, and gives us all hope for our future!

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 31, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 457 other followers

