Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Savannah’s in Wakulla Springs for Breakfast

Sometimes I can be too exclusive, literally, for my own good. The first time I saw this place, I said to myself “no no no no no.” The sign says it all. Not my kind of place. Full of things that are bad for me. Bad! Bad! Bad!

00SavannahsBreakfastBuffetSign

And yet, when The Black Bean was not open, and we were on our way to St. Mark’s National Wildlife Refuge, one of the coolest places on earth, we needed breakfast. I needed coffee. You need a little fuel to run the engines, you know? So, sighing, we pull into Savannah’s.

00SavannaEntrance

As soon as we walk in, I realize I might have made a big mistake, meaning, if we hadn’t come here, we never would have known how cool this place is. Sometimes snobbery can get in the way of having a good time, you know?

It’s exactly the kind of small town breakfast place – and restaurant – that I grew up with in Alaska, and my husband grew up with in his small southern town. The furniture is all locally made. The place is full of town folk, local people who all know one another, and a few birders on their way to St. Marks. There is a large menu of choices; yes, I don’t see any healthy choices, and at some point, it just becomes irrelevant. This is a great experience.

00SavannaDailyMenu

AdventureMan orders the Biscuits and Gravy, a sort of quintessential Southern breakfast dish and I order a biscuit breakfast sandwich. It takes a long time – they are baking fresh biscuits. :-) The coffee is good, not fancy, but well brewed and fresh.

When the breakfast comes, it is delicious. The biscuits are crumbly and flakey. The sausage is tasty. Yep, Pork Fat is Where it’s At.

00SavannahBiscuitsAndGravy

00SavannaBreakfastBiscuit

Savannah’s Breakfast Buffet gives you an astonishing breakfast at very reasonable cost, great service. The atmosphere is warm and welcoming, and you can learn a lot about the community by listening to the local discussions. Here’s how you find Savannah’s:

Screen shot 2012-12-29 at 2.46.21 PM

December 30, 2012 - Posted by | Community, Cooking, Cultural, Customer Service, Eating Out, Florida, Food, Health Issues, Local Lore, Photos, Restaurant, Road Trips | ,

2 Comments »

  1. Oh biscuits and gravy…if there’s anything I love about Texas is it’s great Southern-style food. I’m glad you had a positive experience, and an affordable one, at that! Thanks for sharing!

    - Jonathan I http://styleoverstress.wordpress.com

    Comment by jonathanochart | December 30, 2012 | Reply

  2. LOL, I would kill for a breakfast at Muldaner’s!

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 30, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 443 other followers

