Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Second Day of the New Year

The first day of our New Year was a lot of fun – we had little Q overnight, so after breakfast he and I walked to a near by park while AdventureMan cooked up a big pot of Turkey Gumbo, accompanied by a salad that had apples and cranberries and a fabulous Roquefort dressing, our son and his wife came for lunch and picked up their son, and then we had a free afternoon. I started a new quilt, a complicated quilt, one that takes a lot of planning and a lot of cutting before I can even stitch the very first piece.

Then last night we watched District 9, a movie we had seen before. I always find it troubling, and I know I shouldn’t watch a movie like that which stirs me up, before I go to bed.

30091_gal

So today is the first normal day of the new year, I hit the pool for aqua aerobics and then I come home to do some more cutting for the quilt. I’ve been cutting all day. I still have more cutting to do. Aarrgh.

The good news is – it is my choice. I want to do more quilts, I want to make time. I want to do all the small work that goes into a truly grand quilt. It’s just tedious when you are in the middle of the preparation stages, and the light today is not bright, it is dark.

Maybe better light tomorrow. I am working with wonderful colors; colors of the desert and colors of the Arabian Gulf. :-)

January 2, 2013 - Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, Cultural, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Pensacola, Weather, Work Related Issues

2 Comments »

  1. OK, spill. What quilt are you doing?

    Comment by momcatwa | January 3, 2013 | Reply

  2. A new map quilt for a baby coming soon :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 3, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 464 other followers

