Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Sun Setting Over the Bayou

I love winter. I love the cool temperatures; I feel so much more energetic. I get things done.

I’m in my office, and I can smell tomatoes roasting downstairs; AdventureMan has found a new recipe for a Shrimp and Avocado Soup. He is using freshly picked tomatoes given us by our daughter-in-law’s Dad, so fresh, so tasty, and the roasting is intensifying the flavors. He is happy; he has found passion in cooking up new tastes; one night a week he does dinner and from time to time when he is inspired he also cooks up dinners to share with our son and his family.

I’ve gone off duty. I’ve been working all day, following my passion, listening to NPR and a guest talking about happiness. Happiness, she says, is enjoying the process, living in the right now. High points like Christmas and weddings are but a moment; the true secret of happiness is learning to appreciate the daily life.

For me, the right now is gathering colors. I love colors, and I can see minute differences in shades and colorings, so this is precise and demanding work, gathering the colors, sorting them so once I start using them I can find them quickly. This is just a fraction of the colors I will be using; the colors of the sea:

00GulfColors

I have a good collection, but never enough. This time I especially need a good selection of the lighter shallow-water colors:

00LightSeaShades

At this time of the year, I can see the bayou through gaps in the trees that have lost their leaves. The sun is setting; sparkling in through our windows, and it’s the most light we’ve had all day. Even so, the light is fading fast, and I can no longer reliably sort one shade too close to another. Time to go “off duty.” I’ve saved the newspaper as my reward for working hard all day. Time to enjoy the setting sun, sparkling off the glimpse of bayou.

00SunsetOverBayou

January 3, 2013 - Posted by | Aging, Arts & Handicrafts, color, Family Issues, Food, Pensacola, Relationships, Sunsets

2 Comments »

  1. Happy New Year! Its been ages since we last spoke. How are you??

    Comment by ansam518 | January 3, 2013 | Reply

  2. Happy New Year to you, sweet Ansam! I think of you often, and wonder how you are doing? I always loved this time of the year in Kuwait :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 4, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 462 other followers

