Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

A Night of Booming Thunder

As I opened my Lectionary this morning, the first Psalm is Psalm 57 which begins:

Be merciful to me, O God, be merciful to me,
for in you my soul takes refuge;
in the shadow of your wings I will take refuge,
until the destroying storms pass by.

I just had to laugh.

The lightning and thundering started last night around 10:00. Electrical storms are nothing new to the Pensacola area, but this one went on ALL NIGHT. It was like a front rolled in and got stuck over Pensacola. I woke up later this morning, having been awake around four for a couple hours, just listening. These were close, “BOOM – boom – booom – BOOM!” and loud. Even with the window coverings, you could see flashes of light in the bedroom.

As I lay awake, I thought about how the voice of God must have that deep, resonant, authoritative BOOM of thunder and I wondered what that voice might be trying to say to Pensacola or – oops! – to me.

This morning, that voice is still rumbling off in the distance, with no guarantee it won’t be back to scold us thunderously.

February 25, 2013 - Posted by | Environment, Lent, Living Conditions, Pensacola, Weather

5 Comments »

  1. So what is God scolding you about? I remember one time, getting so frustrated about waiting to find a new country to go to, that I said out loud, “Please God, find us an interesting place.” Within minutes my husband called. “How would you like to go to Palestine?” he asked. So we did, lived in Ramallah for a year and a half, and it was interesting indeed.

    Comment by Miss Footloose | February 25, 2013 | Reply

  2. I had another friend who also lived in Ramallah, Miss Footloose, and she enjoyed it tremendously, despite the challenges. It gave her a whole new insight on what it is like to be Palestinian in Israel. Did it have the same effect on you? Did you attend the expat gatherings?

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 25, 2013 | Reply

    • Let me say, I got an education! I loved it there, and the people were wonderful. There were few expats at the time I lived there, but yes, we did get together.

      Comment by Miss Footloose | February 25, 2013 | Reply

  3. I’m thinking my friends were there in around 1999 – 2001. It was a life-changing environment. I’m glad you loved it there; I hope you had Palestinian friends, too :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 25, 2013 | Reply

    • We were there a couple of years before that, and yes, we had Palestinian friends!

      Comment by Miss Footloose | February 25, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 462 other followers

