Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Countdown

“We’ve started the count-down calendar,” said my beautiful and very pregnant daughter-in-law, “We have so many things we want to get done before the baby comes.”

We were gathered at one of our favorite casual lunch places, a place where we could eat well and our 3 year old could be both free to roam a little, and safe to roam, while the grown-ups talked.

“We’ve started, too,” I smiled at her, “I need to finish up her baby quilt, and two quilts for the homeless project I have due in September. And of course, we will be out of the loop the last two weeks before she is born, so I need to keep motivated now.” I know she will call on me once the new baby is here; I am the back-up, the “can you fix dinner / wash the dishes / hold the baby while I shower / clean up the baby spit / run to the grocery store/ feed the cats”  person. I love it. It’s why we moved here, to be here when they need us, when they need the help. Being close to family, being there to help when they need the help – this is one of the great lessons we learned from our friends in Amman, in Kuwait, in Doha, in Tunis.

We also have an Alaska adventure in store, planned before any of us knew the new baby was en route. It’s not Africa, but we aren’t up for another of those 17 hour rides from Atlanta to Johannesburg this year. Alaska will be fun, a sentimental journey back to my origins for me, and a whole new environment for AdventureMan.

“We’ll also have the school break to cover,” beautiful D-I-L added, “but I know there is going to be a cousin’s camp; I just don’t know when it is going to be.”

Cousins camp – oh what fun. All the little like-aged cousins get together for a week of hell-bent-for-leather activities, from water parks to fire departments to scavenger hunts, they keep those little rascals so busy that they just fall into bed at night. It’s all good.

“I know it’s all going to fall into place,” she sighed, smiling at our son, “but we need that calendar to keep us on track.”

Yeh. Us too!

June 23, 2013 - Posted by | Alaska, Arts & Handicrafts, Circle of Life and Death, Communication, Community, Cross Cultural, Cultural, Eating Out, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Generational, Living Conditions, Pensacola, Travel

2 Comments »

  1. Cousins camp!! We have Camp MimiPapa, but one must be five to attend….will have three for a week later this summer! Hoping for no homesickness…the busier the better in that respect!

    Comment by Grammy | June 23, 2013 | Reply

  2. You are such a courageous woman! Camp MimiPapa sounds like a total hoot! You know me, it’s hard for me to focus on more than one thing at a time . . . I admire so much people who can do it! Three at once – it stuns my mind, the very thought of it . . . chaos! You ARE brave!

    Comment by intlxpatr | June 24, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 447 other followers

