Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Sunny, Crisp October

It’s been years since I have been in this part of the country in October. I’m busy hitting the stores for long-sleeved T-shirts, and a couple pair of non-sandal type shoes, and socks!

The mornings are very foggy. The fog burns off early in the afternoon, and the sky is a deep bright blue, against which the reds and burgundies, oranges and yellows of the leaves contrast brightly. My camera is always on the seat next to me, and I have thousands of photos of leaves. I can’t resist. It is so beautiful.

My good friend Barbara and I picked up take-out fish and went down to a park to watch the sun set over the mountains and water. It was a beautiful evening, a record hot day for October, and the beach was full of people, children, walkers, barbeque-ers – all out enjoying this rare autumn evening. But as soon as the sun went behind the mountain – BRRRRRrrrrrrrrr! A wicked cold wind arose, and we quickly finished and headed home again.

A sign from the pier:
how-to-clean-a-salmon.JPG

October 14, 2006 Posted by | Lumix, Relationships, Travel, Uncategorized, Weather | Leave a comment

Fog

Carl Sandburg. 1878–

THE fog comes
on little cat feet.

It sits looking
over harbor and city
on silent haunches
and then moves on.

fogtrees.JPG

October 14, 2006 Posted by | Lumix, Poetry/Literature, Uncategorized, Weather | 2 Comments

Signs of the Season

pumpkinbesafe.JPG

scarecrow.JPG

pumpkinpatch.JPG

October 14, 2006 Posted by | ExPat Life, Lumix, Travel | 2 Comments

“I Didn’t Teach You That!”

“I didn’t teach you that!” I exclaimed, mentally reviewing everything we had learned together in the last two years. This girl was SMART. If she learned this from me, I had to think carefully when I taught it – she was smart, and she remembers things.

We had just finished critiqueing a presentation she was about to make, in English, on quitting smoking. She had prepared puppets, and a dialogue, and oh! She did a great job! We were sitting in a restaurant, in a private room, where we could eat and still have fun without worrying about embarrassing ourselves.

“No, khalti, no, you didn’t teach us that in words. But that is what you DID,” she responded.

Hunh? Hmmmm. I had to think about that. While I was thinking, she continued.

“When we would say we wanted to do something, you would say ‘OK, what does your week look like? How would Monday after schoool work?’ and we would DO it. You didn’t just talk about things, you did them. When you start a project, you finish it. This is the most important thing I learned from you.”

There are some things you can’t teach; it’s just words. There are things you teach and you have no idea you are teaching. I have to admit, I got choked up.

And I have no idea where this smart young woman is going to go with her life, but I can’t wait to see.

October 14, 2006 Posted by | Cross Cultural, ExPat Life, Middle East, Women's Issues | 2 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers