Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

How Thanksgiving Really Went . . .

The day after Thanksgiving is traditionally a HUGE shopping day in the U.S. Stores have sales that start at 7 a.m. in the morning, some even reward customers who get there at 6 a.m. People start putting up their Christmas decorations. Almost everyone is in calorie overload – no matter how much you tell yourself you are going to go light, you end up eating more than you intended.

The really good news is that leftover turkey and cranberry sauce make dynamite sandwiches. Pies are great the second day.

I didn’t do the pecan pie. When I went to make it, I didn’t have any Karo syrup, and you can’t make a pecan pie without corn syrup. We made an early trip to the Sultan Center, where they DID have those gorgeous huge Kuwaiti shrimp, (they were yummy) and I bought some corn syrup, but by the time I got home, I needed to focus on other things and didn’t have time to make another pie. I had made a plum pie the day before when I discovered I didn’t have corn syrup, and that would have to do. As it turned out, my friend had made THREE pies, two stunningly beautiful pumpkin pies with little leaves of pastry crust on them, and a cranberry/lemon pie that was a tart surprise, and a welcome change from all the sweet stuff. She also baked three kinds of bread – she is one talented lady. She made it all look so easy. Whew!

pumpkinpie.JPG
Pumpkin Pie with Autumn Leaves

plum-pie.JPG

My friend did the turkey, and it was PERFECT. She also did the gravy, and it, too, was perfect. I will have to learn her secret. She also made a smokey black bean soup that was to die for.

turkeydressing.JPG

sweetpotatoes.JPG
Balsamic Sweet Potatoes

Mom’s Roquefort dressing was a big hit, the cranberry jello was great, all the side dishes were great – something for everyone.

But I have to get the recipe for that smokey bean soup from my friend. . . WOW.

Best of all – good conversation with good friends, people you can be comfortable with.

tablejello.JPG

My parents are doing OK, and were baking a turkey when I called and would be sharing Thanksgiving Dinner with my youngest sister and her husband. I give thanks they still have the drive to do their own Thanksgiving.

Enough of the Thanksgiving. . . time to move on. I want to thank all of you who had fun with this meal, who tried making even one dish – you inspired me. And I guess there is a need for easy recipes, because once I had put those recipes online, I was getting huge hits every day – the day before Thanksgiving, I had almost 700 hits. . . it was a huge shock.

I especially want to thank 1001 Kuwaiti Nights for her inspiration, and her questions. I don’t even know what I know, until I know what you don’t know! See her first Thanksgiving dinner at that link. What courage! To try a Feast and to bring it off! I especially love the after photo of her first Pecan Pie! Woooo Hooooooo, 1001!

November 24, 2006 Posted by | Adventure, Cooking, Cross Cultural, ExPat Life, Friends & Friendship, Photos, Thanksgiving, Uncategorized | 11 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers