Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Farewell Old Year

I’m ready for a new year. I’ve read your blogs, I can see that most of you are ready too, we are all ready for a new start, new hope, a better tomorrow.

2006 was a full year for us – a move to Kuwait, our son’s wedding to a wonderful young woman, and several trips back to take care of family business. My husband and I looked at each other and laughed – this year we haemmoraged money. We thank God we had the money we needed when we needed it, but the sheer volume of it, going out, stuns us. We hope this will be a better year, a more stable year, as we squirrel around, hiding our nuts for the winter of old age.

By the grace of God, my Mom is doing well, and thank all of you who have expressed concerns for her. She is grieving, she misses him so much, but none of us would choose for him to suffer one more minute on this earth when he could be in a better place. She spends her time right now surrounded by family and friends. We know she is going to have some bad moments, but she is amazingly resilient, and we see all sorts of signs that she will do well, once the grief abates.

Here is a photo of the photo I told you about earlier in the blog – Dad holding me up so I almost look like I am sitting on the mountain. Those old black and white photos were SO crisp; they enlarged without any serious loss of resolution.

00juneaubaby.JPG

I tell my friends this set the pace for my life of thrill seeking behavior . . .(just kidding, folks)

I wish you all a great day, tieing up loose ends, and a wonderful new year.

December 31, 2006 - Posted by | Adventure, Alaska, Blogging, Family Issues, Friends & Friendship, Generational, Joke, Lumix, Photos, Random Musings, Uncategorized

8 Comments »

  1. What a wonderfully positive and happy post.
    Love and sympathy going out to your mom.
    The photo of you and your father is full of vitality.

    Happy New Year…may it bring prosperity and health for you and your family

    Comment by jewaira | December 31, 2006 | Reply

  2. I love this photo. I remember seeing it when I was little, and it has always made me smile with delight.

    this has been a long year. I can’t wait to see what bright things 2007 brings – heralded by the arrival of Baby Diamond just on the cusp of the new year :-).

    Comment by adiamondinsunlight | December 31, 2006 | Reply

  3. Two of my favorite visitors! good health and all blessings to you in this coming year. May you have all that you need.

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 1, 2007 | Reply

  4. What a beautiful picture :D You do look like you had plenty of spunk as a child!

    May your father rest in peace habeebty.

    Comment by 1001Nights | January 1, 2007 | Reply

  5. That is a wonderful picture, may he rest in peace.

    I hope you have grown to be a chubby woman :)

    Comment by Purgatory | January 1, 2007 | Reply

  6. 1001 – Thank you, habibti. Spunk – plenty. My poor parents. :-P

    Purg – Thank you, too, habibi. As for the rest, thin is a family value. :-( LoooooLLLLLLLLLLLL

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 1, 2007 | Reply

  7. If ducks can be stuffed, so can you, said a wise Korean man.

    Comment by Purgatory | January 2, 2007 | Reply

  8. (Dying laughing) “Stuff it!”

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 2, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

