Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Japanese Breakfast

This is for my husband. I know he reads my blog now and then, and I wonder how long it will be before he sees this?

breakfastmed.gif

The other night, we were out for our favorite “fast” food, which is Japanese food. Not just sushi, we love miso soup. When I am sick, miso soup makes my throat feel better. I feel like I am eating good health, with all those little tofu squares and that seaweed, I feel like the miso soup will make me better. I also love salmon teriyaki, and chawan moushi, and a variety of lesser known Japanese foods.

And my husband said “isn’t miso soup what Japanese people have for breakfast?” and I didn’t know. He though miso soup and rice, so today I looked it up on Google, “Japanese breakfast”, and here is what I found:

Japanese breakfast consists of steamed rice, miso (soy bean paste) soup, and side dishes. Common side dishes are grilled fish, rolled omelet, pickles, dried seaweed, natto, salad, and more. Actually, you can make any dishes to go with rice and miso soup in Japanese breakfast. As you see in the photo, it’s an etiquette to place a bowl of rice on your left and to place a bowl of miso soup on your right side at the table.

It was on Japanese Breakfast About.com, along with ads for Japanese condoms (they are different from others?), a sushi making robot, a Samurai hotel and recipes for steamed rice, miso soup, natto (fermented soy beans), Nori (dried seaweed), Tamagoyaki (rolled omelet), grilled fish and pickles.

It seems to me that Japanese food is going through an internationalization process – sushi used to be all about rice and fish, and main dishes were simple, often stir fried, but all in all, very healthy. Now, I am seeing sushis with fried stuff in them, mayonnaise (?????), and we were offered a green tea ice-cream for dessert . . . that just doesn’t strike me as Japanese. Is it?

But this is for my husband – in case you really read all the way down – YOU WERE RIGHT. (I am obligated by family law to say that.)

February 2, 2007 Posted by | Cooking, Cross Cultural, Eating Out, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Health Issues, Kuwait, Marriage, Middle East, Random Musings, Relationships | 10 Comments

Visit to Skyscraper City

As I was preparing to move to Kuwait, and searching the blogs and internet for any information I would find on living conditions, I came across this quirky website called Skyscraper City which has forums on buildings and developments going up all over the world.

My favorite area, of course, is the forum devoted to the Middle East and Africa within which I love to visit Kuwait and Qatar.

Here you find all the latest news, information and GOSSIP about what’s going up, who has applied for permits, and why projects have stalled. It is one of those gems of the internet.

If you want to post, or reply, you have to join the City. There is a Sky Diwaniyya in the Kuwait section that is always entertaining reading.

800px-palm_island_resort.jpg

Palm Island Resort, UAE from Skyscraper City Forum

February 2, 2007 Posted by | Blogging, Communication, Cross Cultural, Customer Service, Doha, Geography / Maps, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Political Issues, Qatar, Social Issues, Uncategorized | Leave a comment

Mermaid of Mangaf Update

It looks to me like the Mermaid of Mangaf is getting ready for occupation. One night a couple months ago, we drove by and saw workmen’s laundry hanging from the inner balcony areas as they were putting in electrical conduits and air conditioning.

Recently, a grand entry cover was added. It looks to me like they are getting ready to put in landscaping around the building.

00mermaidupdate1.JPG

You can see the dual levels, with the balconies on one level and probably the sleeping level upstairs. The top floor, where the “waves” of glass are the most prominent, appears to be a spacious and elegant fitness center, with a full 180 degree view of the Gulf while exercising.

00mermaidfitness.JPG

All in all, very cool.

February 2, 2007 Posted by | ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Lumix, Middle East, Photos, Uncategorized | 7 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers