Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Internet Phone Blockage

So far, my internet phone is still working. But I can no longer pick up messages; I had a work-around and the work-around is now blocked, too. I still have the connection, but I can’t connect with my internet phone service provider. Hmmmmm.

In Qatar, the problem was solved in less than a week, when ambassadors went to the Emir and protested that the ban on internet phones hurt the entire population. Does the government here understand that Kuwaitis have kids at school in the UK, the US, and are relying on these phone services, too?

My sense is that with the government currently in chaos, no one has the time to focus on this “small” problem. Nor the problem of increasing population and buildings vs. limited infrastructure – roads. water. electricity.

My Kuwaiti friends say that even 20 short years ago, Kuwait was paradise. I believe it, there is so much beauty here, so much natural richness. They say Kuwait was more free twenty years ago.

I know my focus on the internet phone service is selfish; there are bigger problems to be solved. Right now – it’s the one that affects ME!

March 17, 2007 Posted by | Bureaucracy, Communication, Cross Cultural, Customer Service, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Financial Issues, Living Conditions, Political Issues, Random Musings, Rants, Social Issues, Technical Issue | Leave a comment

Shrimp New Orleans

Mom’s Shrimp New Orleans

Mom used to make this a lot when we were in university. Then, twenty years later, I served it to them when they were visiting us in Florida. Mom said “This is delicious! I want the recipe!” It was HER recipe I was using!

It is quick and very easy – it will make you LOOK like a good cook. And – every ingredient is available in Kuwait.

1 medium onion, chopped
1 cup chopped celery
1 cup uncooked regular rice
2 Tablespoons butter

Melt butter, add other ingredients above and cook, stirring in large skillet for 5 minutes.

1 can Tomatoes (28 oz)
1 package Spaghetti sauce mix

Stir above into skillet, heat to boiling. Reduce heat and simmer about 25 minutes, until rice is tender.

1 can artichoke hearts (14 oz)
1 lb shrimp

Stir into rice mixture and cook for 5 minutes.

You can spice this up a little more if it is too bland for you. It easily feeds 6 people with a salad and garlic bread or dinner rolls.

March 17, 2007 Posted by | Cooking, Cross Cultural, Generational, Kuwait, Recipes | 1 Comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers