Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Mosquito Magnet

I am a mosquito magnet. Adventure Man and I go to Africa almost yearly, on safari, sometimes walking, and we love it. But oh, the price I pay! Two or three times a day, I have to tend my wounds – putting antihistimine creams on my bites, which swell and throb and itch until it nearly drives me crazy.

In Tanzania last year, I had no sooner put some serious DEET on when a TseTse fly landed on me and bit me – right where I had just sprayed the repellent!

So every step scientists take to develop a repellent which will truly repel, I applaud.

Mosquitoes Target Exhaled Breath

The mechanism mosquitoes use to zero in on their targets has been discovered by scientists in New York. It is already known that the insects are very sensitive to carbon dioxide in exhaled breath.

Now a team led by Rockefeller University has found that they sense the gas using protein receptors in the structure extending from their jaws.

Writing in Nature, they say the discovery could aid the fight against insect-born diseases, such as malaria.

Read the rest of the article at BBC Health News.

I’m not ready to stop breathing! But maybe they could develop a gum I could chew that would mask the carbon dioxide I exhale?

March 25, 2007 Posted by | Adventure, Africa, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Health Issues, Living Conditions, Tanzania, Travel | 6 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers