Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Travel Woes

Adventure Man says a successful trip is one where the number of landings equals the number of take-offs. With that in mind, I can’t complain about my most recent trip.

I can’t complain that once again KLM cancelled my flight and didn’t bother notifying me. I can’t complain that they made another reservation for me that I found while trying to reserve my seat. I can’t complain that when I went to check in, the other airline showed me on their screen that KLM LIED and said they had tried to notify me (believe me, they have my phone number, they can text me, they can e-mail me and NONE of that happened) but couldn’t and they failed to provide the ticketing information, and the flight was full. I can’t complain that I had to haul all my baggage back over to KLM, stand in the very long angry line and be invaded by people who thought they were too important to stand in line and would walk right up the the harried ticketers and insist on being handled right now.

I can’t complain that I ended up on a FOURTEEN hour flight next to a four year old who threw up half way throught the flight.

The number of landings equalled the number of take-offs. I arrived safely, and my baggage also arrived. Thanks be to God.

July 8, 2007 - Posted by | Adventure, Bureaucracy, Communication, Customer Service, Kuwait, Rants, Travel

5 Comments »

  1. Well that makes me think twice now when using KLM, though I do not have much other options for a quick entry into schiphol :)

    Comment by Purgatory | July 8, 2007 | Reply

  2. damn atleast you made it alright.

    eat lots and lots of dark chocolate :D

    and have a great vacation :P

    Comment by sknkwrkz | July 8, 2007 | Reply

  3. UGH! You poor poor thing! I would rather remain in Kuwait than suffer something like that.

    Comment by jewaira | July 8, 2007 | Reply

  4. oh, what a nightmare. ugh. ugh. ugh.

    time for a complaint letter (I have lots if you need a template) and seriously, time for a new airline.

    AF (Delta partner) has Paris-Seattle, Paris-New York, Paris-Chicago and Paris-Atlanta flights. BA (American partner) has good KWI-LHR LHR-Seattle connections and United (Lufthansa, Austrian) now goes direct from New York.

    Comment by adiamondinsunlight | July 8, 2007 | Reply

  5. Purg – when they are good, they are very very good. But in and out of Kuwait, I have had several problems. Aaaarrrgh!

    Thanks, Skunk, and I am happy NOT to travel again for a while. As an addendum, my rental car was also NOT at the airport, as they said they would be, but off site. That just really frosted the cake.

    Thanks for the sympathy, Jewaira. I thought of you in 18C.

    Little Diamond, I thought of you so often and how good you are at making the internet work for YOU with both price and convenience.

    Comment by intlxpatr | July 9, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

