Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Oyster Barn in Pensacola

When I said I wasn’t that hungry, just wanted a bowl of soup, something like clam chowder or gumbo, my son’s eyes just lit up.

“We could even walk!” he said. “It’s close!”

We didn’t – not that night, because I was really tired, and jet lagging, but I walked back another day to get an outdoor photo for you.

You’d have to know about the Oyster Barn to eat there – it is a tiny marina on a bayou, and out on the main street, there is no indication that this little gem is hidden back along the shore. You just have to know.

And a lot of people DO know. When we got there, the parking lot was packed. We almost went somewhere else, but we decided to give it a try. And there was one booth just emptied, just right for us. It’s the kind of place when you walk in everyone is trying to figure out who you are, because mostly it is packed with locals. You won’t find this place if you are a tourist.

This isn’t a fancy place, but it has great local seafood. The waitress appeared promptly to take our orders, which here, always start with iced tea (“Sweet or UnSweet?”)

My son and his wife had the Jumbo shrimp, which comes with “two sides” – my son had hush puppies and cheese grits, and his wife had salad and hush puppies. The servings are generous, and oh! those shrimp are SO good. They have a peppery-cajun coating that is both spicy and delicious. We finished with a very tart, very authentic piece of Key Lime Pie, all of us so full we all shared one piece with three forks. Life is sweet.

I had the oyster stew – and it was full of plump, juicy oysters. I took a photo of the stew, but it didn’t do it justice – all you could see was a milky looking base with lumps.

My Mom is coming with me next time I visit Pensacola, and this is one of the first places I will take her. I know she will love it. Although it is in Florida, it is very much like the places we used to eat when we lived in Alaska.

00oysterbarb.jpg

00oysterbarbshrimp.jpg

July 14, 2007 Posted by | Cooking, Customer Service, Eating Out, Family Issues, Florida, Lumix, Photos | 10 Comments

Flash for Sparkle: Atlanta 2

More from the Atlanta airport – just look at the texture in these statues!

This one is about the sea:
00atlanta4.jpg

This one is my favorite. I wish you could stand closely with me and see the texture carefully incised in this piece:

00atlanta3.jpg

00atlanta2.jpg

00atlanta1.jpg

Again, thank you Atlanta, you made my day.

July 14, 2007 Posted by | Africa, Arts & Handicrafts, Cross Cultural, Lumix, Photos, Public Art, Spiritual, Zimbabwe | 2 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers