Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Comment Section Closed, Wooo Hoooo

I have had some problems with one particular spammer targeting one particular entry on my blog. Really nasty stuff, it offends me. I clear it out almost as quickly as they send it, but it is ANNOYING.

WordPress is so cool. I went into edit, and turned off “allow comments.” It allowed all the original comments, but has a cheery message now:

“Sorry, the comment form is closed at this time”

*Dancing at a stinging blow against spammers*

August 7, 2007 - Posted by | Blogging, Bureaucracy, Communication, Counter-terrorism, Customer Service, Privacy, Social Issues, Tools

4 Comments »

  1. Testing testing…

    Comment by 1001 Kuwaiti Nights | August 7, 2007 | Reply

  2. Oh it worked! I thought you weren’t allowing comments? But I guess it only applies to that one entry?

    Anyway, I know of one blogger who got nasty comments and he edited them to make the guy who wrote the comments sound gay to piss him off :D

    Comment by 1001 Kuwaiti Nights | August 7, 2007 | Reply

  3. I salute u xpat and welcome u on the war against sapmmers. Let’s kill them all. Get the melitia, we’re marching out

    Comment by Vinnie | August 7, 2007 | Reply

  4. 1001 – *dying laughing* No, it was only for one particular post, Parking Wall of Shame, that some spammer was targeting. And believe me, it sounded bad enough without any editing. I didn’t want it anywhere on my blog!

    But YOU will always be able to comment here!

    Vinnie – I think we are the militia! So many of them, so few of us – we have to fight very bravely and efficiently to wipe the hoards out! On! On!

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 7, 2007 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

