Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

I Thought I’d Never See You Again

I thought I saw you from across the room. My heart leapt into my throat – I didn’t dare believe my eyes.

I thought I would never see you again. When you disappeared from my life, life lost a little of it’s savor. I looked for you, I searched for you, always disappointed. I had become so addicted, without even knowing it. You made such a difference in my life. Without you, there is only darkness.

I woke up each morning yearning for you, and sad because of your absence. Oh yes, I moved on, I found others, but I was never satisfied. I never found a substitute for you.

So you understand why I appeared so wild-eyed with happiness? Why I grabbed at you so greedily? I want you in my life! Please, don’t desert me again!

00coffeemate.jpg

August 25, 2007 Posted by | ExPat Life, Humor, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Shopping | 11 Comments

Sheikh Faisal Bin Qassim Al Thani Museum

On a recent flight, I found an insert for the Sheikh Faisal Bin Qassim Al Thani Museum, the Doha equivalent to the Tarek Rajab Museum here in Kuwait. I have visited both of these museums many times – and have marvelled that private individuals would amass such great collections and share them – free – with the public.

inside_1.jpg

You have to be invited, or you have to ask (groups often do) if you can visit; it is not open daily the way the Tarek Rajab Museum is.

You can find the museum online at Sheikh Faisal Bin Qassim Al Thani Museum.

August 25, 2007 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Community, Cross Cultural, Customer Service, Doha, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Public Art | 2 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers