Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

(Gasp!) I Lied!

I didn’t mean to lie, and I sincerely apologize.When I printed Gas Tank Mystery Solved I believed what I was saying was true. It would be cool if it were true – but it’s not.

I didn’t even bother checking. It made such good sense, you know?

So when I hit the gas station yesterday, just for grins, I took a look at the little gas tank symbol, which looks EXACTLY like the one in the gas tank article. That would indicate my gas tank is on the right.

It is NOT on the right. It is on the left.

I was so embarrassed. I lied to you! I am so sorry! What it shows on your gas guage may NOT be where your tank is.

There is only one good thing. Kinan shared a tip from his Dad – pop your gas tank using the inside lever, and use your side view mirrors to see which side opens. Pretty easy, huh? and you still don’t have to get out of the car.

November 1, 2007 Posted by | Blogging, Customer Service, Experiment, Lies, Technical Issue | , | 5 Comments

Poor Witness

I had hoped to miss the worst of the traffic yesterday morning when I got on the highway, but for some reason, traffic was still heavy. Suddenly, in less time than it takes for me to write it and for you to read it, there were silver and red sparkles in the air, a shrieking of tires, and a car two cars in front of me trying to regain control, bouncing between two lanes.

Everything slowed to an almost halt, without – thanks be to God – any further collisions. One car, weaving in and out, had clipped another.

I’ve often been amazed at how closely these cars whip in and out without crashing. I think I’ve just never seen it happen before. That impact sends the car that’s hit totally out of control. By the grace of God, no one appeared to be physically injured.

I wondered if I should stop, but I realized I didn’t know anything. I didn’t even know for sure which car had been the hitter and which had been the hittee. I would be a very poor witness. All I saw was this firework like explosion of silver and red – the tail light, I am guessing. And heard the sickening screech of tires as both cars tried to avoid a more serious collision.

A good witness isn’t someone who is guessing. I continued on. Saw the aftermath of an almost identical accident just another kilometer up the road. The good news is that it slowed down the traffic, made it more meditative. . . life is short, folks. There is nowhere we have to be in that big of a hurry.

November 1, 2007 Posted by | Adventure, Community, Crime, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Random Musings, Spiritual | 4 Comments

Where is Magical Droplets?

I had a blogging buddy, Magical Droplets, who seems to have dropped off the blogosphere. About a month ago, I checked her blog and it seemed to have gone wierd, it had some of her old content, but all these ads for things that weren’t anything like MD used to write. I checked again recently, and it has just gotten worse.

If any of you know this blogger, will you give her my regards and tell her I miss her?

November 1, 2007 Posted by | Blogging, Communication, Kuwait | 4 Comments

Operation Hope Options

What I love about Operation Hope, in addition to the good works they are doing in the Kuwait Community, dreaming big and making it happen – is that they offer a variety of ways for the public to support them.

If you can give hands-on help, they welcome you.

If you cannot – they welcome your donations!

Here is there most recent newsletter – please, if you can help this worthwhile effort, in whichever way you are most comfortable, please, help. You could have a lot of fun helping pack the winter clothes, or delivering the bags. Or you could have a lot of fun throwing some of your money at the problem.

OPERATION HOPE – KUWAIT

A Mission of Mercy

October 28, 2007

Greetings OH Family!

Exciting news ~ 1,200 winter bags were packed Friday afternoon. Thanks to numerous volunteers the colossal task of setting up, packing, and cleaning up was very quickly accomplished (with the bulk of our winter apparel packed in about an hour’s time!). Moms, dads, children of all ages, business exec’s, and even someone’s grandmother helped to make the miracle happen! My daughter says the pile of bags resembles Mount Everest. . . I think I agree with her!

Another 1,200 coats, thermal underclothing, hats, socks and gloves will need to be packed this Friday, November 2nd at 3:30 PM. This packing date will be a very special one because it is the OH – KUWAIT Student Day. All students (pre-k to university) are encouraged to participate. Kindly RSVP your confirmation to Ms. Kathleen on ophopevolunteer@yahoo.com at your earliest convenience. We’ll require a set-up team to help at 1:30 PM as well. The set-up group should be strong and team-oriented.

The cement foundation for our new headquarters was laid yesterday, and the tent ought to be erected by the weekend ~ God willing. Thanks again to Mr. Nasir for his generous donation!

Thanks also to Debbie B. for donating some of her handicrafts for OH to sell at the bazaars this fall/winter. We appreciate your support!

Deliveries to the poor will begin on Wednesday, October 31st. We’ll need six drivers with SUV’s to arrive at my home at 12:45 PM to load & deliver 324 winter bags in Jabriya. (Mubarak Hospital janitors/porters)

Our second group of volunteer drivers should arrive to my home at 5:45 PM on Wed., October 31st to load & deliver 250 winter bags in Khaldiya. We’ll need 4 SUV drivers at that time. (Kuwait University janitors/porters)

Our third group of volunteer drivers should arrive to my home at 9 PM on Wed. October 31st to load and deliver 128 winter bags in Jabriya. We’ll need 2 SUV drivers at that time. (Mubarak Hospital janitors/porters)

Our fourth delivery will take place at 5 AM on Thursday, November 1st. OH Administrator, Jaye Lynn; Student Ambassador, Emily; and I will make that delivery of 73 bags to Mubarak Hospital janitors & porters.

Kindly RSVP your committment to Ms. Kathleen on the address mentioned earlier for the day & time you can help us deliver. We’ll also need one or two OH photographers are on hand at each delivery, please.

Donations have been steadily coming in ~ glory to God! We still need an additional KD 250 to pay for the next 1,200 hats, socks and gloves that students will be packing this Friday. Your support is most appreciated.

Currently the outstanding balance for the 5,000 coats that were shipped in is KD 17,475.000. Please prayerfully consider hosting a fundraising event, or making a donation that we may continue to pay off these coats. For those who have hosted a fundraiser or given a donation I thank you so very much! The number does seem rather large BUT God’s provision is larger! Each update to follow this one will feature the total outstanding balance at the start so that you may be blessed to watch the sum fall!

Proceeds from Kuwait’s largest charity bazaar (December 8th @ the Crowne Plaza Hotel – Farwaniya) will be donated to OH – KUWAIT!! Please support this exciting one-day event by volunteering (and attending). We estimate we’ll need 40 – 50 volunteers. If you are interested in helping please contact Ms. Kathleen as soon as possible. This may be an ideal opportunity for Boy/Girl Scouts and National Honor Society members to fulfill their obligations to community service hours. Also, if you wish to participate as a vendor, please contact Bazaar Coordinator Karla K. at 626-6223.

Brothers and sisters there are so many opportunities to help ~ so many means in which to make a profound difference in someone’s life. Let us not allow a busy schedule or even a social stigma dictate to whom and how much compassion we extend. Jesus didn’t just help people. He inspired others to do so and encouraged helping behaviors. My prayer for each of us is that the Lord would prompt us to lend a helping hand to the needy and deepen our compassion amidst suffering.

God bless,

Sheryll Mairza
OPERATION HOPE – KUWAIT

November 1, 2007 Posted by | Adventure, Community, Cultural, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Leadership, Living Conditions, Social Issues, Spiritual | , , | Leave a comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers