Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Qatari Cat Loves the Market

The Qatari Cat loves it when I go to the market. Did you ever think about what it must be like to be a cat, to be able to smell the tiniest scent? Do you ever watch a cat lift its’ nose in interest, even open its’ mouth to be able to take in all the nuances of a scent?

I have seen cats bee-line to a person who has been walking on a beach. The Qatari Cat LOVES Adventure Man’s shoes when he gets home from a trip. I try to imagine what it must be like for him, but I imagine when it comes to scent that we are like blind people in the land of the sighted – cats have it all over us.

He spent hours with this sack full of baskets. I think it was like reading a particularly good book for him!

00qcexplores.jpg

November 3, 2007 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, ExPat Life, Pets | 6 Comments

One Thing Too Many

00onethingtoomany.jpg

I was tempted to volunteer for something yesterday, something I KNEW was wrong for me, but I just wanted to help so badly. Volunteer work can do that – how can you say no? You WANT to help. I have to remind myself that I want to do the things I must do WELL, that taking on commitments and making promises I end up not able to keep is not helpful. It doesn’t help the person I promised to help, and it makes me feel terrible about myself.

I already have a full plate. I really cannot take on more.

Sometimes we get a sign. If we are very lucky, if we have the eyes to see, we recognize it.

Some tomatoes had become overly ripe and I needed to toss them. I could easily hold four, but wanting to do it all in one swoop, I picked up all five, and one fell. When I saw the splat pattern on the floor, my first thought was that it had some artistic merit, and my second thought was that I needed to photograph it as a reminder of what happens in life when we take on one thing too many.

November 3, 2007 Posted by | Biography, Community, Family Issues, Spiritual | 5 Comments

Science Exam Answers

When my son was in school and we would talk about school and grades and tests, I told him “tell the teachers what you know, even if you don’t know the answer to the question, sometimes you get partial points. Don’t leave a question blank, especially on written exams.” Rarely are you penalized for guessing, or for wrong answers.

Here are some delightful answers children came up with on science exams. (Thank you, KitKat, for passing these along to me.)

Subject: Science Exam Answers

If you need a laugh, read through these
Children’s Science Exam Answers.

These are real answers given by children.

Q: Name the four seasons.
A: Salt, pepper, mustard and vinegar.

Q: Explain one of the processes by which
water can be made safe to drink.
A: Flirtation makes water safe to drink
because it removes large pollutants like grit, sand,
dead sheep and canoeists.

Q: How is dew formed?
A: The sun shines down on the leaves and makes
them perspire.

Q: How can you delay milk turning sour?
A: Keep it in the cow.

Q: What causes the tides in the oceans?
A: The tides are a fight between the Earth and
the Moon. All water tends to flow towards the moon,
because there is no water on the moon, and nature
hates a vacuum. I forget where the sun joins in this
fight.

Q: What are steroids?
A: Things for keeping carpets still on
the stairs.

Q: What happens to your body as you age?
A: When you get old, so do your bowels and you
get intercontinental.

Q: What happens to a boy when he reaches
puberty?
A: He says good-bye to his boyhood and looks
forward to his adultery.

Q: Name a major disease associated with
cigarettes.
A: Premature death.

Q: How are the main parts of the body
categorized? (e.g., abdomen).
A: The body is consisted into three parts -
the brainium, the borax and the abdominal cavity.
The brainium contains the brain; the borax contains
the heart and lungs, and the abdominal cavity
contains the five bowels, A, E, I, O, and U.

Q: What is the fibula?
A: A small lie.

Q: What does “varicose” mean?
A: Nearby. (I do love this one…)

Q: Give the meaning of the term “Caesarean
Section”
A: The Caesarean Section is a district in
Rome.

Q: What does the word “benign” mean?’
A: Benign is what you will be after you be
eight.

November 3, 2007 Posted by | Education, Family Issues, Humor, Joke | 6 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers