Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Hokey Pokey Cat

My latest giggle from I Can Has Cheezburger? I know it looks like the Qatari Cat, but it is not.

funny pictures
moarfunny pictures

November 4, 2007 Posted by | Blogging, Humor, Pets | 9 Comments

Time for a new Mac

Last night, as I checked this blog, all of a sudden everything froze. Now and then that might happen. I turned it off, and rebooted. Nothing.

You know that feeling of sheer panic when you think you might be cut off?

I let it rest – sometimes when you walk away, it fixes itself. And sure enough it came back on, and I could log on and even picked up some e-mail. Maybe four minutes in, it froze again.

I bought this Mac in April of 2004 – I know, because I was back in the US for Sporty Diamond’s wedding, and I uploaded my first photos into iPhoto. I was IN LOVE. iPhoto lets me manage all my photos so easily, lets me organize, helps me in so many ways.

I have never had a moment’s problem with this computer. I’ve upgraded the operating system a couple times, tweaked things here and there, and never had a problem.

When the new Macs came out recently with the new operating system, I was feeling envious, but honestly, my current Mac is running so well . . .

Now, however, Adventure Man says “hey, this sounds like a great time for a new computer!”

He he he he he – I think so, too!

I hate to leave my current Mac behind – he has worked so hard, we’ve been partners, we’ve had so much fun together! Seems like he’s had enough, though, and it’s time to move on.

November 4, 2007 Posted by | Blogging, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Financial Issues, Technical Issue | , , | 9 Comments

Wind Up Lights for African Homes

My husband gave me a wind-up flashlight (British English = torch) and I love it. In movies like The Blair Witch Project or crime movies, the flickering and dying of a flashlight always foretells something really really bad is about to hapen. I love it that I have a flashlight I can keep winding up.

In our national legends, we have Abraham Lincoln doing his schoolwork on the back of a shovel, next to a flickering fire. That must have taken real dedication. Imagine what your own life would be like if we had no light after sundown. . .

From BBC News AFRICA:

The technology behind the wind-up radio could soon be helping to light up some of the poorest homes in Africa.
The Freeplay Foundation is developing prototypes of a charging station for house lights it hopes will improve the quality of life for many Africans.

The Foundation said the lights would replace the expensive, polluting and unhealthy alternatives many Africans currently use to light their homes.

Field testing of the prototypes will start in Kenya in the next few months.

Light and life

Kristine Pearson, director of the Freeplay Foundation, said few Africans in the continents most vulnerable areas had access to electricity to light homes.

“Their life stops or is very narrowed when the sun goes down,” she said. “Two extra hours of light would make a big difference to their life.”

You can read the rest of this article about developing this technology for Africa HERE

November 4, 2007 Posted by | Africa, Community, Cultural, Family Issues, Financial Issues, Living Conditions, News, Technical Issue | Leave a comment

Eat Your Onions!

(And carry breath mints!)

From today’s BBC Health News comes proof that those helpings of vegetables and fruits cut the risk of early heart disease.

Onions ‘cut heart disease risk’

Eating a meal rich in compounds called flavonoids reduces some early signs of heart disease, research shows.

An Institute of Food Research team focused on one of the compounds, quercetin, which is found in tea, onions, apples and red wine.

The Atherosclerosis study examined the effect of the compounds produced after quercetin is broken down by the body.

They were shown to help prevent the chronic inflammation which can lead to thickening of the arteries.

You can read the rest of the article HERE.

November 4, 2007 Posted by | Diet / Weight Loss, Family Issues, Health Issues, News | 7 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers