Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

“Madam, Too Many Words”

We were working together in the garden, and I was explaining what I wanted done with the bougainvilla starts I had collected from various colored shrubs on the compound. It doesn’t take much to get bougainvilla going, but you have to do it right.

When I was done explaining, I said “was that clear? do you understand?”

He shook his head sadly and said “Madam, too many words.”

November 12, 2007 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Biography, Communication, Cross Cultural, ExPat Life, Living Conditions, Qatar | , | 7 Comments

Mom’s Cranberry Salad

Mom’s Cranberry Salad

I printed this last year, and it is so good and so simple I am sharing it with you again. It’s probably my favorite Thanksgiving food.

1 1/2 C cranberries (They have these at Sultan Center; wash, pick over and cook until soft)
1 1/2 C water

add 1 Cup sugar and boil one minute
add 1 small pkg lemon jello (I use raspberry or cherry or strawberry because I like red)

When all is dissolved, add:
juice of one No. 1 can of crushed pineapple (Mom’s recipe says a #1 can – use one of the small cans.)

When cool, add:

diced pineapple from can
1/2 cup finely diced celery
1/4 cup chopped walnuts

Stir, put into mold or bowl and refrigerate until firm.

One small buffet mold. How easy is that? :-)

(This recipe is from the 1950’s. I double everything, Pour into mold for the holidays, or into a crystal bowl from which it can be served without having to unmold.

Here in Kuwait, I can’t find crushed pineapple, so I buy the chunk pineapple and cut them to be smaller sized. You can’t do it in the food processor because it gets too mushy.

The cranberry salad is in the center of the photo:

tablejello.JPG

November 12, 2007 Posted by | Cooking, Cultural, ExPat Life, Holiday, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Thanksgiving | , , | 5 Comments

Paying the Price

I had two wonderful days, Thursday and Friday, out and about all day in this wonderful Kuwait weather. Saturday was out again for a short time with Adventure Man and felt a tickle in my throat. No big deal, I figure it is just allergies, or the change in seasons; I drank some ginger tea and figured that would be the end of it.

Wrong!

1052_woman_sneezing.jpg

Yesterday, it was hanging on, getting stronger. Here come the sneezes, the swollen sinuses, the watery bleary eyes, the sneezing and the coughing. Having a cold totally grosses me out. I’m not a person who gets dramatically and romantically ill, lying beautifully in bed while people bring me hot drinks and speak to me in soft voices. I look terrible! I want this cold gone now! I’ve upped the arsenel to Strepticils, Zinc tablets, Cranberry juice and antihistimines. It doesn’t matter; I am a wreck.

I’m better during the day, it’s night time that gets me – I wake up choking and coughing, my sinuses hurt, my nose is running. . . and I sleep fitfully, with weird dreams, so sometimes I can’t tell if I am dreaming or awake.

The Qatteri Cat faithfully follows me everywhere I go. I am sleeping in the guest bedroom so Adventure Man doesn’t have to suffer through this with me, but QC just makes comforting noises and snuggles up to me.

I have a lot to do this week. Please keep me in prayer for a speedy recovery!

November 12, 2007 Posted by | ExPat Life, Family Issues, Health Issues, Hygiene, Kuwait, Marriage | 13 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers