Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

L’Heure Bleu

One of my favorite times of the day is the magical time when, as the sun is setting in the west, the colors change from the warm golden shafts of late afternoon to the pink and blues of impending sunset, and then gradually into the blues, blue-violets, purples and indigos of nightfall.

It is never the same two nights in a row. I make it a ritual, when I can, to stop and watch the transformation. I’ve tried photographing the changes, but it is the ephemera of the colors that makes it so magical, not any one given instant.

This is just a tiny tiny part of the great, magnificent whole – the sunset fishers.

00nightfishing.jpg

November 14, 2007 Posted by | Kuwait, Photos, Weather | , , , | 3 Comments

Everybody Needs Somebody

funny pictures
moar funny pictures

How amazing. How adorable. From today’s visit to I Can Has Cheezburger.com

November 14, 2007 Posted by | Humor, Living Conditions, Pets, Photos | 11 Comments

Care Package

From the time our son was seven years old, we began praying for the girl he would marry – we knew she was probably somewhere in the world! We asked that God keep her sweet, and that when she and our son met, they would recognize one another and love one another faithfully.

Our prayers were answered bountifully. When he met his wife-to-be, he called us and said “there is someone I want you to meet.” He wasn’t talking about marriage – they had just met – but he knew she was special. From the time they started dating, they both kind of knew – this was it.

We knew from the beginning we would love this young woman. What we didn’t know is that we would love her family so much. As we partied together before the wedding, we had so much fun! Her family, like ours, has a great traditions of “aunthood” and “the cousins” and family gatherings. The cousins all attend one another’s weddings, gather together for special weekends (they went white water rafting and hiking this last summer, and are already planning the next gathering.) We all value family.

As my Mother has undergone surgery recently, one of my sweet daughter-in-law’s aunts has called my Mother twice, just to chat, and totally brightened her day. She also sent us a most wonderful Care Package – Texas Pecans!

00carepackage.jpg

It doesn’t take much to thrill my heart. I feel so blessed.

November 14, 2007 Posted by | Biography, Community, Friends & Friendship, Generational, Holiday, Marriage, Mating Behavior, Relationships, Spiritual | , , , , , | 4 Comments

Sunrise With Clouds

I’ve been watching the sky, watching as the continual haze has gathered into wispy clouds, and then, last night, mackeral clouds. At university, we had mandatory distribution classes – everyone had to take classes out of their field, and I took Atmospheric Science as one of my sciences. For a one-semester class, a lot of it really stuck with me!

One of my commenters, Abdulaziz, mentioned earlier that we could start watching for rain. I am watching! As I looked at the sky this morning, I could begin to imagine that rain will indeed be possible again in Kuwait, one of these days:

00sunrise14nov07.jpg
(Kinan, who loves the sunrises as I do, you know this is for you!)

November 14, 2007 Posted by | Community, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Photos, Weather | 7 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers