Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Beautiful Weird Thanksgiving

This was a beautiful, wierd Thanksgiving for me. It’s one of the very rare Thanksgivings that Adventure Man and I have not been together. He was down in Florida, at an all day eating, playing and visiting fest with our son, our son’s wife and her family. He shucked his first oysters, and was told he had better keep his day job.

I am in Seattle with my Mom, and we went to my best-friend-from-college’s house. It turned out to be one of the sweetest Thanksgivings I have had. As we sat down at the table, my friend said that in her house it is tradition to go around the table and to tell one thing you give thanks for. I found that incredibly moving. You have a glimpse into another person’s heart when you tell what you are thankful for.

And the food! Oh my! All my good resolutions, all my good intentions, down the drain – the food was SO good.

I took some photos to share with you:

The Veggies and the Salmon-Spinach Dip (oh WOW)

00vegswspinachsalmondip.jpg

Making the world’s most tasty gravy, with fresh sage and thyme:
00makinggravy1.jpg

Carving one of the world’s most perfectly cooked turkeys:
00carvingturkey.jpg

The dining table – just before the carnage:
00dinneralmostready.jpg

November 23, 2007 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Community, Cooking, Cultural, Diet / Weight Loss, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Florida, Friends & Friendship, Generational, Holiday, Thanksgiving | 9 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers