Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Seattle Fuel

Here is what Seattleites tank up on to handle the chill weather:

00seattlefuel.jpg

There are little coffee shops ever couple hundred feet – Seattle people don’t want to be without their coffee, chai, or cinnamon apple cider.

November 28, 2007 Posted by | Seattle, Shopping, Social Issues, Weather | , , | 5 Comments

Cold Weather Gear

I can’t be the only one to have this problem. It doesn’t even matter that I have lived in the Pacific Northwest; no matter what I pack, when I am in Kuwait, I can’t imagine being cold enough to need things like hats that cover your ears, gloves, and heavy scarves.

Last winter, I did buy some heavy shawls in December, in Kuwait, and I am wearing them over my jackets when we walk along the waterfront. The wind coming in off the bay is chill and damp, and goes right through everything we are wearing. I am so thankful to have beautiful wool shawls to keep me warm, but we still had to make a run to the store to buy more hats and gloves:

00coldweathergear.jpg

As we went out for our walk this morning, Adventure Man reminded me to take the tag off the top of my hat. Doh!

(I also have the same trouble going back to Kuwait at the end of a Seattle summer; like “what? I won’t need a sweater? Not for months?”)

November 28, 2007 Posted by | ExPat Life, Living Conditions, Seattle, Shopping, Weather | 4 Comments

Lutefisk Dinner

Do you listen to Prairie Home Companion? Have you ever heard Garrison Kieler talk about Norwegians and lutefisk?

Wikipedia gives the following definition, and if you want to see a photo or know how to prepare it, you can check on the blue Wikipedia above:

Lutefisk (lutfisk) (pronounced [lʉːtəfɪsk] in Norway, [lʉːtfɪsk] in Sweden and the Swedish-speaking areas in Finland) is a traditional dish of the Nordic countries made from stockfish (air-dried whitefish) and soda lye (lut). In Sweden, it is called lutfisk, while in Finland it is known as lipeäkala. Its name literally means “lye fish”, owing to the fact that it is made with caustic soda or potash lye.

As I was googling lutefisk, I actually found a place you can order it at Walleyedirect.com and it will look like this:

lutefisk.jpg

You probably won’t want to. Lutefisk is what poor immigrant Norwegians used to eat through the long winters. It is cod that has been soaked in lye and then dried to preserve it. It is also incredibly smelly. If you are at all sensitive to smell, you will probably not even be able to be in the same room with lutefisk.

Why am I telling you all this? Some people find lutefisk a rare delicacy; it brings back nostalgic memories of the good old days. Only in communities with pockets of heavy Scandinavian decent will you find signs on bulletin boards like this:

00lutefiskdinner.jpg

November 28, 2007 Posted by | Community, Cooking, Cross Cultural, Eating Out, ExPat Life, Living Conditions, Seattle, Travel | , , | 4 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers