Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Blog Content

I have a feeling I already know the answer to this question, but here goes. In WordPress, you can see when people have referenced your articles in their blogs. Recently, I’ve been getting lots and lots of references. The websites that are quoting me are not bloggers like the Kuwait Blogs aggregated by Safat, but are blogs selling – in particular – Paxil, which I don’t even know what it is, but also some gambling sites, sites my content really has nothing to do with. Sites I am not sure I even want to be associated with.

Some actually give me credit, as Intlxpatr or Here, There and Everywhere, but some – even while they give a trackback to my blog – say something like MillionDollarWinner today posted on Christmas in Seattle . . . and there is one of MY blog entries.

So my question – is there anything I can do to stop this? (I think the answer is probably “no”) I have left comments on a couple saying they shouldn’t be stealing my content, but then nothing changes, and they have a valid blog address for me . . . What is my best course of action/inaction?

Do any of you have this same problem, people stealing your content?

December 8, 2007 Posted by | Blogging, Communication, Crime | 10 Comments

Christmas Party Cheese Crisps

Cheese Crisps are SO easy, and so good.
cheese_crisp.jpg

Beat together until mixture just holds together:
3/4 cup butter
1 1/ 4 cups flour

Add and mix in with spoon:
1 cup shredded sharp cheddar cheese

Stir into above:
1 1/4 cups oven toasted rice krispies cereal

Shape into 3/4 inch balls, place on greased baking sheets.

Bake at 400 degrees, about 12 minutes.

Store airtight, in single layer, if they last long enough to store! When people smell these cooking, they come running. You might want to double the recipe!

December 8, 2007 Posted by | Christmas, Cooking, Entertainment, Holiday, Recipes | 5 Comments

Three O’Clock Musings

Part of the problem is that for a few days I am totally on my own – without AdventureMan, my life is more free-form. So if I fall asleep at 7 p.m. who cares? As long as I get seven hours of sleep, it isn’t a health issue, is it? Does it matter when you get your sleep? I awoke shortly after I went to sleep however, my bed was shaking – was it just me? No, my bookstand was also rattling, and it went on for what seemed like a long time. Got my adrenelin pumping, but maybe it was just my imagination, not an earthquake. It FELT like an earthquake.

AdventureMan calls at 9:00 pm, we talk, we say goodbye and I read until 10, but am able then to go back to sleep. And then, at 2:30 am, I am wide awake. I didn’t sleep all day yesterday, but neither did I go out – most of the day I was feeling that dopey-almost dizzy headachy kind of feeling when your body knows it is supposed to be sleeping. Not a good time to be out on the road. ;-) I don’t want to endanger my Kuwaiti friends!

So I make myself stay in bed, but I can hear a roaring sound. Is someone pouring gravel, because that is what I think I am hearing? After a while, because I can, I get up and make a pot of coffee, close the kitchen door so the Qatteri Cat can’t come in, and go out on the balcony. No traffic, but I can still hear that roaring. I look out – and it is the pounding surf, I am hearing, one of my most favorite sounds in the world. There is a chilly wind, it seems to be coming from the east, and the pounding surf. I wouldn’t have missed this for the world.

AdventureMan and I laugh – we both relish our time on our own – but only for a short time, and then it gets old. We talk a couple times a day or more on the phone; it isn’t the same. We have such great conversations, when we are in the same room together, or even the same city or the same country! I wonder what my life would be like without him, and I can honestly say it would be calmer, less complicated, quieter . . . and that I would miss him terribly.

He tells me his life would be more chaotic – empty refrigerator, clothes on the floor, that without me (nagging) to remind him of things, his life falls apart on the domestic front. I believe it!

I think I get over jet lag faster, though, when he is around to provide my life with greater structure. I WANT to get back on local time, but I succumb to temptation when he is not around, I take the easy way, I don’t make so much effort to adapt. I have to admit, three o’clock in the morning is MY time. I’m not the kind of night-owl who wants to stay up this late, but I love sleeping early and getting up this early, as long as I don’t have anywhere to be or anything to do in the next few days that requires my attention. At three in the morning, the world is mine!

*shares the sound of the pounding surf*

The Qatteri Cat follows me around, so happy to have his house-companion (me) back. We watches for me to sit, and if I have been running around (doing inexplicable things like unpacking, doing laundry, etc) he complains, after all – who wouldn’t rather be snuggling up with the Qatteri Cat? When I sit to blog, he snuggles as close as he can and does his singing purr . . . it’s a normal cat purr, but with the added element of cat joy; it sounds like he is singing and purring at the same time. Life is sweet.

Is it it just me, or is the internet running slowly?

December 8, 2007 Posted by | Communication, ExPat Life, Health Issues, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Random Musings, Relationships, Travel | , , , | 7 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers