Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Party Planning

I was idly contemplating a party, and wondering if I should think about Mardi Gras (think Jambalaya, bread pudding, and honky-tonk beads) or Chinese New Years (order in a bunch of Chinese Food, hang up some good luck signs, and some Rats – this will be the year of the Rat) and I thought I would check the dates.

Holy Smokes! Gras! Mardi Gras is February 5th, Lent starts February 6th and Chinese New Year starts February 7th!

Celebrating Chinese New Year on a Thursday night is cool (Thursday night in Kuwait is like Friday night where the weekend is Saturday/Sunday) but not so cool when everyone has just started fasting and spiritual examination. Lent is not like Ramadan; Lent is more spare, it’s introspective, it’s kind of like Danish modern, less is just LESS!

(I think I had better go for Mardi Gras.)

If YOU want to celebrate Chinese New Years, Here is where you can find out about what you need to eat for Good Luck in the new Chinese year like when you eat noodles, don’t cut them because long noodles signify long life, a whole fish signifies togetherness and abundance, and whatever you do, don’t eat tofu, which is white, and unlucky, signifying death and misfortune!

chinese-astrology.gif

January 18, 2008 - Posted by | Cooking, Cultural, Events, ExPat Life, Holiday, Lent, Spiritual | , ,

9 Comments »

  1. you could always do Shrove Tuesday…pancakes are EASY!

    Comment by grammy | January 18, 2008 | Reply

  2. you never invite me, especially for jambalaya which is my favorite!

    Comment by amer | January 18, 2008 | Reply

  3. Grammy – you are RIGHT! Yummy!

    Amer – LLLOOOOLLLLLL! It’s a GIRLS party! LLLLOOOOLLLLLLLLL!

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 18, 2008 | Reply

  4. I love parties! sometimes planning them is the best thing about them!

    Comment by kaileena | January 18, 2008 | Reply

  5. LLLOOOLLLL, Kailena, you are right, sometimes the planning is SO much better than the outcome! I remember thinking “I was so busy I didn’t have time to enjoy my own party!” But when the noise level cranks and the neighbors start complaining (joking!) I know I have a hit on my hands!

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 19, 2008 | Reply

  6. Ahh..jambalaya..I miss that dish :(

    Comment by Я | January 19, 2008 | Reply

  7. Ahhhh! Я! You need to get on down to N’awlins! Also, you can make Jambalaya yourself, right here in Kuwait.

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 19, 2008 | Reply

  8. My chinese zodiac is the Rat and this is my year :D I have vowed to make it a great one. Enjoy the party and have fun…

    Comment by kinano | January 19, 2008 | Reply

  9. Kinan, I thought I was one thing for years and years and years and then a Chinese friend looked up my birthday and said because the Chinese New Year’s is lunar, I was actually the one before! What a hoot; I’d been reading the wrong sign all those years and thinking it was me! I usually send this friend flowers for Chinese New Years, but she will be away in China this year! Flowers are appropriate for friends celebrating Chinese New Years.

    Comment by intlxpatr | January 20, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

