Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Deemaland

You know, I always visit my commenters to make sure they are not someone marketing drugs or enlargements or some kind of objectionable filth, and also because I often find a blog I haven’t seen before, and I really like.

I found one like that yesterday – Deemaland. When you go there, the first thing you see is this:
annual.jpg

Oh my friends, is that gorgeous, or what?

Then, she tells us about an exhibit:

9-13 Mar. 2008

Event: “Architectural Catwalk”
5th Annual Exhibition of Architecture
Host: Kuwait Architectural Student Association [KASA]
Type: Exhibition of the students work.
Location: Al-Raya Complex, Sharq district, Kuwait City.
(the exhibition is in the Ground floor of the mall side)

Only on HER blog, even the information looks artistic.

This woman has an EYE. She publicizes events that otherwise might go unnoticed. Go visit Deema’s starkly beautiful blog. Also, take a look at her gorgeous Flicker photos.

March 10, 2008 Posted by | Adventure, Arts & Handicrafts, Blogging, Building, Communication, Community, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Photos | 6 Comments

College Level Classes for Older Adults

AdventureMan and I fantasize about what retirement will look like, even though it is a few years ahead of us. It helps to think about what is coming and how we are going to handle it.

We have a house near my Mom, and Mom sent AdventureMan a clipping from the local paper about classes being taught for “older adults” (WHEN did THAT happen, we wonder, when did we become “older” adults???) with the sweet note that AdventureMan could teach a few classes.

Here are some of the classes offered at the college near us:

Africa: A Closer Look
The Canterbury Tales, Part I and Part II
Civil Liberties and Security
Current Issues Forum
End of Life Decisions
Geology of National Parks
The History of the Supreme Court
Jazz: Can You Dig it?
The Many Faces of Hinduism
Native Basketry of the columbia Plateau, Northwest Coast and Arctic Alaska
The Poetry of Billy Collins
The War of 1812

He’s excited about the idea. So as we were planning to pray together before he left for the day, we were chatting excitedly.

“You could teach some classes on buying hand woven carpets! or on Arabic culture! or you could teach about some aspect of Africa!” I suggest. (I have my own projects that keep me very busy.)

“I was thinking more about organizational classes – managing organizations, financial management, that kind of thing . . ” he responded, “You know, like organizing your life . . .”

(I can see that manic gleam come into his eye and I know what is coming next might well be something I don’t want to hear. . .)

“I’ve got it!” he exclaims, and he starts laughing, because he is already cracking himself up. “I can teach a class called . . . HOW TO ORGANIZE YOUR WIFE! Ha ha hahahahahahahahahhahahahahhahahahahhahahhahahah.”

I can’t help it. I am laughing too. But it’s not THAT funny, AdventureMan.

March 10, 2008 Posted by | Adventure, Community, Education, Family Issues, Living Conditions, Random Musings, Social Issues, Women's Issues | 4 Comments

Sunrise 10 March 08

Morning is coming earlier and earlier, and we haven’t even hit the Spring Solstice yet. I fell asleep too early last night, so I was wide awake when the sun started rising this morning. It looks like another beautiful, glorious Spring day, no clouds, just that troublesome layer of haze off there in the distance.

00sunrise10mar08.jpg

It is 55°F / 13°C at 0730.

March 10, 2008 Posted by | ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, sunrise series, Weather | 8 Comments

Jazeera to Istanbul

We have almost as much fun in Turkey as we have in Damascus, for all the same reasons. So this morning, when Jazeera announced a new route starting March 29, they got a big Wooo Hooooo from me!

NEW ROUTE! Kuwait Istanbul From March 29!

Considered the gateway to Europe, Istanbul is a quintessentially eastern city, with glittering mosques and decorative splendor. The city has a rich history to explore, with beautiful wooden Byzantine architecture, fascinating museums, and the most glorious mosques. Sample the delicious mezze and kebobs, stroll around the markets and bazaars, enjoy a cup of apple tea and absorb the lively atmosphere.

Flight schedule:

Kuwait – Istanbul Istanbul – Kuwait
Thursdays DEP: 07:55 / ARR: 11.30 DEP: 12.15 / ARR 15.45
Saturdays DEP: 18.15 / ARR: 21:50 DEP: 22.35 / ARR: 02.05
Mondays DEP: 18.15 / ARR: 21:50 DEP: 22.35 / ARR: 02.05

March 10, 2008 Posted by | Adventure, Travel, Turkey | | 12 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers