Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Salt Talk

I am reading through a cook book I found recently, Best of the Best, published in 1998 by Food and Wine, and claiming to be the best receipes from cookbooks published every year. Maybe – I don’t know.

This quote caught my eye:

“The right amount of salt can make or break a dish . . . In general, though, I find home cooks rarely cook with enough salt. Most people would be shocked at the amount of salt used in professional kitchens, where we season every component of a dish carefully, and then combine them.”

product.jpg

AdventureMan and I gave up cooking with salt years ago, adding as we eat, as needed. I always laugh because food tastes SO good when we go out. We always knew it had to do with the fact the food was salted, and had lots of fat in it that we didn’t know about, but this is the first time I have seen it documented so blatantly. It is just one of those boxed comments, so I don’t know who said it.

March 21, 2008 Posted by | Cooking, Eating Out, Entertainment, Health Issues, Living Conditions, Technical Issue | 2 Comments

Reservations

I just had a truly gut-wrenching experience.

I’ve been checking airline prices for my summertime journey back to the USA. I use Mobissimo most often, but I use them all, just to see how prices compare.

The prices have been high. I finally reserved – paying more than what I used to pay for business-class for an economy-class ticket. Seats are disappearing, prices are soaring and I am betting many families will opt just not to travel this summer, or to travel using a Jazeera-type-airline for travel to more local vacation sites.

If you have travel plans, you might want to start looking at your plans now. It’s going to be a rough summer out there.

March 21, 2008 Posted by | Community, ExPat Life, Financial Issues, Holiday, Living Conditions, Thanksgiving, Tools, Travel | , , , , | 5 Comments

A.Word.a.Day: Karuna

I love A.Word.A.Day. You will see it down there at the very top of my blogroll. They send me an e-mail every day with a new word, where it came from and how it is pronounced and used. I’m pretty good with words, and AWAD challenges me to keep growing. Love it. You can subscribe by clicking the blue words above or clicking on A.Word.A.Day in the Blogroll. Today’s word:

karuna (KUH-roo-na) noun

Loving compassion.

[From Sanskrit karuna (compassion).]

“Once we experience and feel this inter-dependence of all living beings,
we will cease to hurt, humiliate, exploit and kill another. We will want
to free all sentient beings from suffering. This is karuna, compassion,
which in turn gives rise to the responsibility to create happiness and
its causes for all.”
Suresh Jindal; Interdependence of All Living Beings; The Times of India
(New Delhi); Nov 13, 2003.

March 21, 2008 Posted by | Blogroll, Character, Spiritual, Words | 4 Comments