Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

GKS&S Challenge: You Can Do Better!

See, it’s my challenge, I make up the rules, and wow. I am so glad I did. The first challenge came because I truly could not find a decent sunset photo, and you showed me they exist, and you showed me they could be totally WOW.

The second challenge, Sand and Surf, is because I love Sand and Surf, and I am so glad I cannot compete (it’s my contest, remember? Like it would be dirty pool for me to compete, and how would you know if I won fair and square, or if I used wasta with myself?

So just to encourage you, I am going to show some of my favorite sand and surf photos, but now that I have seen yours, I know that these are not particularly good, I just like them. YOU can do better. It’s OK with me. :-)

Here is sand and surf and everything I love on Mnemba Island, a CCAfrica camp, off the coast of Zanzibar:
00mnemba1

Here is a scene I found here in Kuwait:
00fishpen

Here is another shot from Kuwait . . . well there is surf . . .
00fehaheelfishermen

Here is a shot from another favorite place I visit, Oman, near Sur:
00ssoman

Here is a shot taken in Seattle:
00ssseattle

And here is a shot from the Oregon beaches with a little bit of everything – sand, surf, sunset and even a dancing dog:
00oregonbeachsssunset

Have a great weekend, Kuwait.

You still have time to get your photos in. The contest will close this coming Saturday, and the poll will go up, insh’allah, the same day. (Are you thinking of ideas for the next one? I am! :-) )

November 20, 2008 - Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, Blogging, Community, Cross Cultural, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Oman, Photos, Seattle, Zanzibar |

8 Comments »

  1. I heart the first pic! thats a murder!!!
    have a wonderful weekend :)

    Comment by Someday | November 20, 2008 | Reply

  2. First and last photos are breathtaking! I’d vote for you. :P

    Comment by MacaholiQ8 | November 20, 2008 | Reply

  3. Heee Heee. Glad you liked them.

    Comment by intlxpatr | November 21, 2008 | Reply

  4. Glad youre back. Hope you had a lovely time with family and friends. :)

    Comment by onlooker | November 21, 2008 | Reply

  5. I love number 3 and the last one :)!

    One of my favorites is two men in a Dishdasha at the beach (can’t find it on my site though right now) and the one with the two women in this post
    :)

    Comment by rainmountain | November 21, 2008 | Reply

  6. Onlooker – not back, but checking in when I can. :-)

    Oh! Nicole! I am so happy to see you! How are you enjoying Hungary? I am betting it is getting COLD there, just when it is so beautiful in Kuwait.

    Comment by intlxpatr | November 21, 2008 | Reply

  7. Grin, yeah right. As soon as we would step into Kuwait again, the sand storms would start ;)

    Thanks, I’m doing quite well. We have been a month in Germany (hubby had a short term contract) and now we are chilling and looking what’s gonna happen next :)

    Yes, it’s getting cold here, but I enjoy it. This week we had the first frost and today we had the first tiny snow flakes.
    About time. All plants thought it’s spring time ;)

    Comment by Nicole | November 22, 2008 | Reply

  8. Lovely photos. Love the first one.

    Comment by Bu Yousef | November 22, 2008 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers

