Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Joe Patti’s and Joey Patti’s in Pensacola

My son’s wife looked at me thoughtfully, and said “Has anyone ever told you about Joey Patti’s?”

“I’ve seen his ads,” I replied.

“Pensacola people say his seafood is the BEST,” she says. “I’ve eaten there once, and I thought it was pretty good. You might want to give it a try.”

I understand what she means. She knows that wherever I go, I like to look behind the curtains, to know where the locals go, what they talk about, how they think. I like to know what makes peoples tick. We are all more alike than we are different, but the differences are so interesting.

Joe Patti runs his own fishing fleet. He processes and sells some of the freshest seafood in the Gulf. He is a big feature on the Pensacola waterfront, and nearby is Joey Patti’s restaurant. We saw lots of happy seagulls and pelicans around the boats and seafood plant, and the parking lot at the restaurant was totally full.

00joepattis

00ppelican

We followed the signs for Joey Patti’s, connected – we don’t know exactly how – one is a seafood seller, one is a restaurant. We were given the very last available booth in the very large restaurant, which was totally bustling with customers – all of Pensacola seemed to be eating lunch there the same day we were there. We soon learned why – the food was simple Southern seafood at its best – fresh, hot and oh, so good.

Clam chowder

Clam chowder

Crab Cake Sandwich

Crab Cake Sandwich

Oyster Po'Boy Sandwich

Oyster Po'Boy Sandwich

Hush Puppies (actually, there were more, but we couldn't wait)

Hush Puppies (actually, there were more, but we couldn't wait)

If you get to Pensacola, look down on the waterfront for Joey Patti’s. You’ll be in for a treat.

December 7, 2008 Posted by | Cultural, Eating Out, Florida, Food | 8 Comments

Islam Everywhere

As we were driving along in Pensacola, we saw a familiar sight – not familiar for Pensacola, but familiar and strange and wonderful all at the same time – it has a great playground in the back.

00islaminpensacola

December 7, 2008 Posted by | Cross Cultural, Family Issues, Florida, Living Conditions | 8 Comments

Q8Geek Sparkles

The Q8Geek sent me a photo to make me miss Kuwait – and oh WOW – I am a total sucker for SPARKLES and look at his SPARKLES!

00q8geeksparkles

AdventureMan and I are so COLD! Kuwait looks so nice and warm!

December 7, 2008 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, Blogging, Kuwait, Photos, Weather | 4 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers