Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Older Dog

This came in this morning’s e-mail:

 

An older, tired-looking dog wandered into my yard.
I could tell from his collar and well-fed belly that he had a home and was well taken care of. 

He calmly came over to me, I gave him a few pats on his head; 
he then followed me into my house, slowly walked down the 
hall, curled up in the corner and fell asleep.

olderdog

An hour later, he went to the door, and I let him out.

 

The next day he was back, greeted me in my yard, walked inside and resumed his spot in the hall and again slept for about an hour.

This continued off and on for several weeks.

 

 

Curious I pinned a note to his collar: ‘I would like to find out who the owner of this wonderful, sweet dog is

 

and ask if you are aware that almost every afternoon your dog comes to my house for a nap.’

 

 

The next day he arrived for his nap, with a different note pinned to his collar:

 

‘He lives in a home with 6 children, 2 under the age of 3 – he’s trying to catch up on his sleep.

 

Can I come with him tomorrow?’

January 29, 2009 - Posted by | Community, Humor, Living Conditions

9 Comments »

  1. Lol !

    Comment by Mathai | January 29, 2009 | Reply

  2. :)

    Comment by Bu Yousef | January 29, 2009 | Reply

  3. Most adorable thing I’ve seen in weeks!

    Comment by Sparkle | January 29, 2009 | Reply

  4. LOL thats jaw dropping funny!

    Comment by Ansam | January 30, 2009 | Reply

  5. Woehahahaaaa! The dog-express!!!
    What a lovely story! Who ever owns this dog has a great sense of humour!
    Have you met by now?

    Comment by Aafke | January 31, 2009 | Reply

  6. Fabulous! I too wonder if you have met “the family”. Smart dog, getting his needs met so nicely.

    Comment by Chiara | February 3, 2009 | Reply

  7. PS oh, on rereading did this happen to someone else?

    Comment by Chiara | February 3, 2009 | Reply

  8. That’s my dog in the picture. She is called Juno, and she would rather play than nap!

    Comment by Sasha | December 25, 2010 | Reply

  9. LLOOLL, Sasha, there is nothing like a Golden retriever. :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 25, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

