Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Qatteri Cat Gets Crazy

A windy night plays havok with getting a good night’s sleep, if you have a cat. It is just the way God made cats – any little strange noise and watch what happens – their ears go straight up, their eyes go on high alert and their posture is ready-for-action.

We had one cat, a cat born wild in Tunisia, and on a windy night in Germany, she would make us totally crazy. “I must go out! I must go out!” she would cry as the wind blew leaves fluttering across the patio and tree branches made strange motions in the shadows. I would struggle half-awake down the stairs, let her out the patio door, and 15 minutes later she would be crying down under my window “I’ve made a big mistake! It’s cold out here! Please come down and let me in!” and I would struggle down the stairs and let her in and tell her to settle down, that I wasn’t going to let her out again.

Her little brain can’t remember all that. An hour later, she would forget “cold” and was crazy with desire to be out where all the action was, once again. And the cycle continued. She had me trained. I was her door opener.

The Qatteri Cat doesn’t go out, but he gets wound up by the wind, as any cat will. AdventureMan calmed him down last night, and he curled up and went back to sleep. Guess AdventureMan will always be the favorite with the Qatteri Cat.

This is what Weather Underground Kuwait calls a “light haze.”
00lighthaze

My windows are streaked with dust and humidity.

February 11, 2009 - Posted by | Adventure, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Germany, Humor, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Marriage, Pets, Qatteri Cat, Weather

8 Comments »

  1. Cats are built to withstand all kinds of weather. I was surprised when Cutey, my Kuwaiti cat, loved snow at first site this x-mas. She would spend hours tunneling under it and making her own version of snowmen.

    Comment by toni | February 11, 2009 | Reply

  2. LLOOLL, Cutey loved snow? Most of my cats go from door to door in a snowy climate, asking where ‘the nice place” is? I have never seen a cat love snow!

    toni, I have to ask, why are you at this blog? I always check commenters, making sure it isn’t some spammer – the blog attached to your name is like six levels of intellect higher than this blog!

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 11, 2009 | Reply

  3. I’ve actually been a long time reader, first time commenter. Yes the blog attached to my name is political/mathematical, but that doesn’t mean its more intellectual than yours. Don’t sell yourself short. I enjoy your thoughts and comments very much.

    Comment by toni | February 11, 2009 | Reply

  4. I’m honored, Toni. How did you end up with a Q8E cat? QT? Love it!

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 11, 2009 | Reply

  5. Hehe, that was actually the reasoning behind the name, QT the Q8E. Toyger, was my first choice (she looks like a little toy tiger), but I was vetoed… Found her in the kitchen of a Chinese restaurant by my house and took her home right away.

    Comment by toni | February 11, 2009 | Reply

  6. I can’t even LOL at her being found in the kitchen of a Chinese restaurant; it comes to close to one of my deepest fears. :-( I imagine she is one very very grateful little kitty.

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 12, 2009 | Reply

  7. Hehe, I wasn’t sure if they were from Schezuan Province (that’s where they eat cats and anything else that moves), and I wasn’t going to wait to find out :)

    Comment by toni | February 12, 2009 | Reply

  8. Lucky lucky QT. So many cats . . . I wish I could save them all.

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 12, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

