Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Expecting Too Much?

The newspapers in Kuwait have gotten better. Really. They are using fewer hackneyed cliches, their spelling is better, their use of photos is getting better – mostly the captions match the photo.

This, however, is inexcusable.

A headline featuring the Emir of Kuwait – a big story.

Sew, my newspaper friends, is what you do with a needle.

Sow is what you do with seeds, or grains, as in “as you sow, so shall you reap.”

Oh, Arab Times, the shame!

AMIR WARNS IN RUN-UP TO POLL CAMPAIGN; ‘Prosecute bids to sew disunity’

KUWAIT CITY, April 12, (KUNA): His High-ness the Amir Sheikh Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah on Sunday called on the relevant national authorities to take legal action against persons or establishments that target national unity in the run-up to the electoral campaigns. The Amir made the call during an extraordinary session of the Cabinet that he chaired. The meeting was attended by HH the Crown Prince Sheikh Nawaf Al-Ahmad Al-Jaber Al-Sabah and Minister of Amiri Diwan Affairs Sheikh Nasser Sabah Al-Ahmad Al-Sabah. Following the session, Deputy Prime Minister and Minister of State for Cabinet Affairs Faisal Mohammad Al-Hajji Bou-Khaddour stated that HH the Amir, during the meeting, expressed his dismay and regret at those who are fomenting discords and hateful factional disputes, as part of their campaigns for the upcoming elections for the ninth legislative term of the National Assembly.

April 14, 2009 - Posted by | ExPat Life, Kuwait, Language, News, Words

9 Comments »

  1. Hahaha….hope the Arab Times staff read your comments.

    A belated Easter wishes to you n Adventureman.

    Comment by Jonyboy | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  2. Sad story – wonder when these blokes would do a survey to find out what the readers actually feel about these papers.

    Gulf News (Dubai based) a couple of years back did one of those surveys and basis its results hired some top consulatants to revamp the paper. It now is a swell read in its own little way.

    Comment by purpleram | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  3. AAAAAAAaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaaargh.

    Comment by Bu Yousef | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  4. Bad spelling and weird headlines happens in all newspapers around the world, do u watch Jay Leno’s Headlines segment? it’s hilarious

    Comment by AMD | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  5. I have to share this story! :P I apologize in advance because it`s a bit long :)

    (Deleted at request of commenter)

    So local newspapers; beware! :P

    Comment by noura | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  6. Spell checker assists but does not do the job perfectly.

    Where is the source for common sense input?

    Alt + Ctrl + Del ?

    ~ Soul

    Comment by Soul | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  7. Thank, Jonyboy.

    Purpleram – (Are you Rampurple?) I actually love reading the newspapers, and, like Bu Yousef, mostly do the long AAAAAarrrrrggghhhh! to myself, but now and then, I just have to share, especially when it is sew bad.

    Bu Yousef – I feel your pain.

    AMD – I hardly watch any TV at all anymore; I just got so sick of the endless waste of my time. Sometimes my son sends me a “watch this” and i get to see a segment of the Daly show or Colbert. Wouldn’t they have a field day here?

    Oh Noura! I am so glad you took the time! My poor cat – I am hooting with laughter, too loud; he is looking at me like I am a great annoyance to him, if he had a stick he would hit me with it for my unladylike hoots of laughter. What a great story. Oh. my.

    Soul – Would that we could bottle it and sell it, hmmm? I could probably use a daily dose or two myself!

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 14, 2009 | Reply

  8. At least I would expect good business of the bottles from the news agencies.

    ~ Soul

    Comment by Soul | April 17, 2009 | Reply

  9. LLOOLL . . . I am not so sure. Common sense might take all the drama out of the news.

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 17, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

