Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Don’t Mess with Seniors!

A while back, one of my commenters said she had read a book with an “old” couple just like AdventureMan and me.

“Old??” we looked at each other in horror!

“Old people with a son getting married” is I think what she said, so that makes just about every person over 45 “old.”

We will have our revenge. Time flows only in one direction – but the older you get, the farther away “old” looks.

My 85 year old mother visits friends, now and then, who live in retirement homes, from modest to posh.

“What do you think, Mom?” we ask, knowing how lonely she is without Dad and wishing she had more companions around her to do things.

She sighs.

“They are all so OLD!” she says. “I don’t want to be surrounded by all old people!”

And she is right. She lives on her own, she cooks her own meals, cleans her own home, with only a little help from a cleaning lady and her family. She keeps herself in good shape. She is far from “old.”

I found this in today’s news on AOL – some young idiots thought they had an easy target. They thought wrong.

OldGuy

Two would-be carjackers learned the hard way not to mess with this grandfather. Ted Mazetier, 84, stopped to help two men with a broken-down car in Tacoma, Wash., April 22 but ended up fighting them off when they attacked and demanded his keys. Mazetier kicked one in the groin and the other in the stomach. The two were later arrested, KOMOnews.com reported.

May 28, 2009 Posted by | Aging, Character, Crime, Family Issues, Health Issues, Living Conditions, News | 12 Comments

Who Is My Neighbor?

You would think when someone so special is talking, people would listen. You would think that when he is trying to tell us what God expects from us to enter into his kingdom in the after life, people would be listening, and indeed, they listened, many listened. There were others who did not. There were also those closest to him who misunderstood! That always baffles me, that those closest could misunderstand.

Today’s lesson is one of my very favorites in the world. You can substitute any two races who hate one another and the story is equally clear. The man who was asking the question was setting Jesus up, or trying to, and Jesus used the occasion to teach a stunning truth – that love is stronger than hate.

Luke 10:25-37

25 Just then a lawyer stood up to test Jesus.* ‘Teacher,’ he said, ‘what must I do to inherit eternal life?’

26He said to him, ‘What is written in the law? What do you read there?’

27He answered, ‘You shall love the Lord your God with all your heart, and with all your soul, and with all your strength, and with all your mind; and your neighbour as yourself.’

28And he said to him, ‘You have given the right answer; do this, and you will live.’

29 But wanting to justify himself, he asked Jesus, ‘And who is my neighbour?’

30Jesus replied, ‘A man was going down from Jerusalem to Jericho, and fell into the hands of robbers, who stripped him, beat him, and went away, leaving him half dead. 31 Now by chance a priest was going down that road; and when he saw him, he passed by on the other side. 32 So likewise a Levite, when he came to the place and saw him, passed by on the other side. 33 But a Samaritan while travelling came near him; and when he saw him, he was moved with pity. 34 He went to him and bandaged his wounds, having poured oil and wine on them. Then he put him on his own animal, brought him to an inn, and took care of him. 35 The next day he took out two denarii,* gave them to the innkeeper, and said, “Take care of him; and when I come back, I will repay you whatever more you spend.” 36 Which of these three, do you think, was a neighbour to the man who fell into the hands of the robbers?’

37He said, ‘The one who showed him mercy.’ Jesus said to him, ‘Go and do likewise.’

I have seen this in my own life. I have seen hopeless situations, with no solution in sight, totally change because one person chooses to love, instead of to hate. Choosing to love, in the face of hatred, takes a lot more character, a lot more strength. It has the potential for changing everything.

May 28, 2009 Posted by | Character, Charity, Community, Cross Cultural, Experiment, Living Conditions, Spiritual | 2 Comments

Breathless Day

The air is still, and there isn’t a single wave on the vast, flat glassy Gulf. At eight in the morning, it is already breathlessly hot:

0800

It’s not getting any better. Maybe by the beginning of next week, as you can see, a little “cold” weather will be moving in ;-)

28May5Day

The only way you can determine the difference between water and air is the layer of yellow tinged haze on the far horizon:

00BreathlessDay

Here is what my life looks like right now:

00PackedBoxes

Yesterday, a sweet friend dragged me away from all the packing and focus on moving and treated me to a day at the Aquatonic Spa. I admit it, she had to drag me – I can get so immersed in my misery that I don’t even want to do something fun.

In spite of my churlishness, we had a great time. Playing around in that fabulous pool, and then having beauty treatments afterwards – it just took all the misery out of me. I felt great for the first time in weeks. I slept last night without waking, and awoke refreshed, thanks be to God, and thanks to my friend who knew what I needed better than I did.

May 28, 2009 Posted by | Adventure, Beauty, Biography, Community, Exercise, ExPat Life, Friends & Friendship, Health Issues, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Moving, sunrise series, Weather | 5 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers