Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Kuwait Miscellaneous and Photo Dump

“The time has come,” the Walrus said,
“To talk of many things:
Of shoes–and ships–and sealing-wax–
Of cabbages–and kings–

(From Lewis Carrol’s Jabberwocky)

I was in a hurry to fix breakfast, which was two lovely eggs in a little fresh Kuwait butter, but I was too hungry and grabbed a handful of walnuts from a nearby jar to chew on while breakfast cooked.

“hmmmm. . . ” I thought “these walnuts taste like Japanese rice crackers. . . ” but I knew my very favorite smoked almonds were all gone and . . . and . . . it dawned on me in horror, and I ran to the sink and spit out the “almonds.”

00MyBad

Not paying attention, I had grabbed the wrong jar, and had a mouth full of CAT FOOD!

“How did it taste?” my good friend asked, when I told her about it, in disgust.

“Fishy.” I said. “Actually, probably not that bad, except that it was CAT FOOD.” I couldn’t get past the cat-foodness of it to really judge how it tasted.

00MaidanHawallyMosque

This will probably be my last Kuwait mosque photo. We shot it in Maidan Hawally, and the light was fading so quickly, I just took the photo, knowing the background was totally awful. The mosque – aha – thanks to my readers, I know it is Shiite, because it has a green dome! See! I was listening! But what graceful decoration on the minarets. What a delight!

00DreamBoat

You can have your power yachts, all sleek and white and sleeping a hundred – I will take this dream boat any day. I love the wood, and the lines. Whoever owns it taunts me by parking outside my window and fishing. I would love to be fishing off this boat.

00EarlyMorningShimmerKuwait

A rare, clear summer morn in Kuwait when I can see the shimmer of the sun off the buildings in Salmiyya . . .

00ParkingHallofShame

Reviving the Parking Hall of Shame, Al Manshar Mall only has like 40 parking spots for the whole mall and this nincompoop (pardon my language) takes up two spots with his careless parking. AAARRRGGGHH!

00TakeMeTooDad

The Qatteri Cat hates it when AdventureMan gets out his suitcase. He sent a very clear message – “Take me, and Baby, too!”

May 30, 2009 - Posted by | ExPat Life, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Pets, Qatteri Cat

13 Comments »

  1. Why do Shiite mosques have green domes? What do Sunni mosques have? In Morocco, the mosques all have three little balls on top.

    Comment by expat21 | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  2. Beautiful boat, with strangely Chinese lines. Parking in Kuwait is beyond dumb, ‘nincompoop’ is mild beyond words, please let yourself go! And the mosque is my joint favourite in Kuwait, along with the one on the Sheraton side of the Salhiya, pink and cream stripes. Thanks for your comment on booj.blogspot.com.

    Comment by Colin Wells | May 30, 2009 | Reply

  3. A wonderful post :-)

    Comment by jewaira | May 31, 2009 | Reply

  4. loool at you eating cat food, was it soggy?

    Comment by pearls | May 31, 2009 | Reply

  5. AUUUUUGHHHHH cat foood!!!

    Thank god u didnt mistake them for cereal and added some milk :S

    Brrrrrrrrr thats nasty

    Comment by Daddy's Girl | May 31, 2009 | Reply

  6. Expat21 – I am told they are green because that is Mohammed’s favorite color, but my readers would know better than I, and I hope someone will elaborate.

    Colin – The ones with sails often look even more Oriental!

    Thanks, Jewaira! :-)

    Pearls – No, it was dry. It even felt like almonds in my hand. I think I need to be paying more attention!

    Daddy’s Girl – LLOOOLLL! Yep, it was pretty disgusting, even just the thought of it!

    Comment by intlxpatr | May 31, 2009 | Reply

  7. I had a cat… I guess the only thing that had loved me unconditionally… it was forcefully taken away from me 3 days later.

    I was devestated.

    Comment by Disturbed Stranger | May 31, 2009 | Reply

  8. Thank you for the beautiful photos. If I had known you were coming to Maiden H., I would have invited you over for tea.
    I have a good friend who is moving to Qatar, she is already excited to read what your blog will teach her.

    Best wishes, safe travels, Happy Packing
    and may God always smile on you!!
    Cheers
    Nadine W Brown

    PS if you ever want to come in Minnesota, just let me know!

    Comment by NWBrown | May 31, 2009 | Reply

  9. Nice post… That is truely an ugly building behind the mosque.

    I think we need a new shelf for our dog food :) Just in case I’m hungry at night…

    Comment by Bu Yousef | May 31, 2009 | Reply

  10. Oh, Distrubed Stranger, that is so SAD! You’ve never forgotten! Is there any way you could have a cat in your life now?

    LOOLL, Nadine, I DO want to visit Minnesota! There is this Detective named Lucas Davenport, a detective in the Twin Cities . . . (John Sanford) and there is this huge mall with a Waterworks park inside!

    BuYousef, LLLOOOLLL!

    Comment by intlxpatr | May 31, 2009 | Reply

  11. That mosque and the boat is lovely!
    And the cat seems to be really afraid to be left behind :)

    And thanks again for the goggles about the almonds ;)

    Comment by Nicole | May 31, 2009 | Reply

  12. Hi,

    We have just added your latest post “Kuwait Miscellaneous and Photo Dump” to our Directory of Science . You can check the inclusion of the post here . We are delighted to invite you to submit all your future posts to the directory and get a huge base of visitors to your website.

    Warm Regards

    Scienz.info Team

    http://www.scienz.info

    Comment by marie | June 1, 2009 | Reply

  13. I’ve heard that cat food is actually tasty.. but then again my college roommate would eat anything :D

    Comment by Mathai | June 1, 2009 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

