Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Brisk Morning at the Souq Al Waqif

“My husband hates shopping and hates the souks” said one of my friends, and my friend Grammy and I just grinned – any excuse for a trip to the souks, especially to introduce someone to our own particular joys. Early breakfast at the Beirut, walking here and there, finding small treasures and great pleasures, and ending up with coffee at the Cafe Tasse, which has divine Cafe Mocha with real whipped cream. It’s OK, I don’t have real whipped cream every day, just . . . have a problem resisting on those wonderful sunny winter mornings in the souks.

Some sights to share with you:

Dashing souk policemen on horseback, an early morning treat


The hardware souk, in the ‘guy’s souk area’, i.e. camping, hunting, fishing, falcons, hardware . . .


Falcon Hood Maker


Tiny little falcon hoods

January 29, 2010 - Posted by | Adventure, Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, Community, Cultural, Doha, Eating Out, Entertainment, Friends & Friendship, Hot drinks, Living Conditions, Qatar

6 Comments »

  1. What a lovely morning it must have been. Nice photos too

    Comment by Jewaira | January 29, 2010 | Reply

    • Good afternoon, Jewaira – I think you and I are about the only ones not outside enjoying the rest of the beautiful day! Is it as beautiful today in Kuwait as in Qatar?

      Comment by intlxpatr | January 29, 2010 | Reply

  2. Hey :)
    It is a gorgeous day and I am going out within the hour to the desert. Brrrrr..not looking forward to it as I am a beach girl lol

    Comment by Jewaira | January 29, 2010 | Reply

    • I’ve never been colder in my entire life than camping in the desert! We all think of deserts as HOT HOT HOT – but not in the winter!

      Comment by intlxpatr | January 29, 2010 | Reply

  3. Love your story and pictures!! Looking forward to it all. I am a treasure hunter too! Hope I can find a good friend to go to the souk!

    Comment by Polar Panda | January 30, 2010 | Reply

  4. hi there.i was just wondering,what time is the souq open for business.me and my family will have an 8 hour stop over in Doha.Thought that we might go to Souq Al Waqif to pass the time.:)

    Comment by azura | March 13, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

