Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Hey Ayatollah! Leave Those Kids Alone!

Every now and then I make a new friend. I can see in their eyes – life! love! willingness to engage and take risks! people who don’t necessarily see things the way the majority does.

One of these friends, my Kuwaiti friend, is a treasure. She has the most amazing mind, and sends me the most amazing things.

You might look at me and think I am too old for Pink Floyd, but you would be wrong. Pink Floyd makes my blood run faster. They did when I was younger, they did when my own son discovered Pink Floyd, and then, watching this video my friend sent – WOW. There goes the adrenelin!

OK, YouTube won’t let me insert it in this post. Go to the original post, play the video. . . very creative, very moving:

http://www.blurredvisionmusic.com/

Don’t you love young people? They love justice, and they hate injustice. They hate unnecessary constrictions. They hate people telling them how to think. All that energy, all that passion, all that vision!

Most of my friends – like AdventureMan, like my Kuwaiti friend – are still 25 on the inside. :-)

Most of my friends will get this video – and love it! :-)

February 9, 2010 Posted by | Adventure, Aging, Communication, Community, Cross Cultural, ExPat Life, Interconnected, Iran, Kuwait, Law and Order, Leadership, Living Conditions, Political Issues, Social Issues, Values | 4 Comments

Life Intrudes

Yes, I am sorry. I left you with no indication that I wouldn’t be able to blog for a while, but – as it does for you – life intrudes. AdventureMan and I are on a GREAT adventure, a baby was born, and thus we became Grandma and Grandpa! We didn’t intend to be here for the birth, but babies have their own schedules, and we got here in time to spend time with our son and his wife AND to be able to see our new grandson before he was even an hour old.

Who ever thinks the thrills in life are over once you hit ‘grown-up’ is SO wrong. Life just keeps getting better and better, and is full of thrills – if you have the eyes to see, and the ears to hear, and the heart to know a miracle when you see one.

Every new baby is a miracle. We can’t make them happen – or not happen – by wishing. Babies, each and every one, are a miracle.

Photos? This was a mixed up trip. We have been on the run ever since we hit the ground. I have photos, but I left my card-reader in Doha. As soon as I can hit a store, I will show you a photo of the newest prince. ;-)

Thanks for your patience with me.

February 9, 2010 Posted by | Adventure, Aging, Beauty, Biography, Blogging, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Florida, Friends & Friendship, Generational, Living Conditions, Relationships | 12 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers