Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Honey Baked Apples

“If you really want to make something I like . . . I really really like those baked apples.”

My daughter in law and I hate the term daughter-in-law and mother-in-law. We wish there were nicer words for the relationship we enjoy so much. I really do want her to be happy, and I want to make life with a new baby easier, so I am glad there is something I can do that will make life sweeter.

I made this recipe up from things we keep on hand in the house. I don’t think it matters what kind of apples you use; it is the honey, nuts and cinnamon that make this SOOOOOO good:

Heat oven to 350°F/180°C

apples – cut in half, scoop out seeds with a spoon, cut off stem or end pieces
chopped pecans, or walnuts – fill each apple cavity
honey – pour honey into each apple cavity over pecans, and drizzle a little over the rest of the apple
cinnamon – sprinkle lightly with cinnamon
cloves – sprinkle with a tiny bit of ground cloves

Spray a baking dish with olive oil (you do have a Misto, don’t you?) Place apples in, cut side up, fill with pecans, drizzle with honey, sprinkle with cinnamon and clove. Pop into oven and bake at 350°/180° for one hour – one hour and a quarter. Remove from oven and let cool slightly before eating.

This is a very healthy fruit dessert, but you can add a little vanilla ice cream and it will still taste good, LOL, it will also add calories. :-)

This is what they look like when they are ready to go into the oven:

February 17, 2010 Posted by | Florida, Food, Health Issues, Living Conditions, Recipes, Relationships | | 1 Comment

Famous Dave’s BBQ

Oh WOW.

AdventureMan wanted just one more BBQ meal to tide him over until he returns to Pensacola. We headed for Famous Dave’s, because they are really, really good.

AdventureMan had the pulled pork sandwich with baked beans and cole slaw:

I had the catfish platter, with baked beans and a cob of corn:

The catfish came with two sauces, a remoulade and a Thai sweet/hot sauce, but I prefer the BBQ sauces:

Oh my friends – Kuwait and Qatar need Famous Dave’s!

February 17, 2010 Posted by | Eating Out, ExPat Life, Florida, Food, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Qatar | | 5 Comments

Fat Tuesday and Beads

“That’s not tinsel, Mom,” my son said, “They’re beads. People throw them during the Mardi Gras parade, and they stick in the trees. And it’s not Shrove Tuesday, it’s Fat Tuesday, here in Pensacola.”

Oh.

Today I needed to do a couple trips downtown and so I looked closely at all the colorful objects sparkling in the trees after the Mardi Gras parades. Yep. He was right. Beads.

It is still cold in Pensacola. The temperature as I was driving around this morning was just above freezing. But it is cold – and clear – and sunny, and those beads sparkle in the sunlight.

Tonight we are having Jambalaya for Fat Tuesday, the night before Lent starts. I have little Q sleeping next to me. Life is sweet in Pensacola. :-)

February 17, 2010 Posted by | Adventure, Arts & Handicrafts, Community, Cultural, Florida, Living Conditions, Public Art | , , | Leave a comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers