Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Short Break

Tonight is our last night in the hotel, and tomorrow morning we move into our house, with all it’s fresh new wiring, and fresh new paint, too.

I was in the house, picking up mail, when our contractor was there.

“Have you picked a color yet?” he asked.

“I’m still not sure, ” I said.

“Do you want the electricians to leave the receptacles off so you can paint and then replace them?” he asked, and I didn’t know what to say because yes, what he was saying made sense, but no, I wasn’t so sure I was ready to start painting.

“Look,” he said to me. “We’re coming in under budget. I know what you’re thinking, you’re thinking you can do this cheaper yourself, but with the house empty, our painters can come in and get this all painted for you and you will still be under budget.”

I almost cried. I know the paint is very fashionable, but it made me think of mushrooms, and caves, and it was just too dark for me. I need light.

“Lilting Laughter,” I said.

“Lilting Laughter it is,” he said, “But if you want anything done differently, like one room painted something else, it is OK. We can do that. How about the ceilings?”

“White” I said, without a second of hesitation. I need light! I want the rooms to be light and airy!

What a difference. The color is peachy in some lights, rosy in others. In the morning light, you think it is a white, but it has all these subtle undertones. I love it, and we love this company and the way they do their work.

It still smells a little painty, but we have our air shipment arriving tomorrow, and a house full of furniture we haven’t seen for 12 years arriving next week. We’re going to have our hands full.

I will blog if I can, but we don’t even know when we will get internet connected. I’ll be back. :-)

April 16, 2010 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Blogroll, color, Community, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Florida, Living Conditions, Moving | 4 Comments

The Hacienda Restaurant in Pensacola

While we have really missed GOOD Mexican food during our time in the Arabian Gulf countries, we find that we are on an endless search for our favorite Mexican restaurant here in Pensacola. We have had good food – and then had bad, umm. . .er . . . repercussions.

Finally, we found a restaurant we loved. The next day, we also realized that we were fine! No gastric fireworks, no problems.

First, the Hacienda is very welcoming, and the service is fast and attentive without being intrusive.

Second – the restaurant is colorful. You really know you are in a Mexican restaurant:

Third – the food was really good. Chips were thin and quickly cooked so they were not coated with fat.

AdventureMan had a tamale with shredded beef, and he says it was outstanding:

I was not so hungry, so I ordered a taco salad – but it was really delicious, too.

April 16, 2010 Posted by | Cultural, Customer Service, Eating Out, ExPat Life, Florida, Food, Living Conditions, Pensacola | 1 Comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers