Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Short Break

Tonight is our last night in the hotel, and tomorrow morning we move into our house, with all it’s fresh new wiring, and fresh new paint, too.

I was in the house, picking up mail, when our contractor was there.

“Have you picked a color yet?” he asked.

“I’m still not sure, ” I said.

“Do you want the electricians to leave the receptacles off so you can paint and then replace them?” he asked, and I didn’t know what to say because yes, what he was saying made sense, but no, I wasn’t so sure I was ready to start painting.

“Look,” he said to me. “We’re coming in under budget. I know what you’re thinking, you’re thinking you can do this cheaper yourself, but with the house empty, our painters can come in and get this all painted for you and you will still be under budget.”

I almost cried. I know the paint is very fashionable, but it made me think of mushrooms, and caves, and it was just too dark for me. I need light.

“Lilting Laughter,” I said.

“Lilting Laughter it is,” he said, “But if you want anything done differently, like one room painted something else, it is OK. We can do that. How about the ceilings?”

“White” I said, without a second of hesitation. I need light! I want the rooms to be light and airy!

What a difference. The color is peachy in some lights, rosy in others. In the morning light, you think it is a white, but it has all these subtle undertones. I love it, and we love this company and the way they do their work.

It still smells a little painty, but we have our air shipment arriving tomorrow, and a house full of furniture we haven’t seen for 12 years arriving next week. We’re going to have our hands full.

I will blog if I can, but we don’t even know when we will get internet connected. I’ll be back. :-)

April 16, 2010 - Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Blogroll, color, Community, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Florida, Living Conditions, Moving

4 Comments »

  1. I am so looking forward to your posts once everything is at it’s place!

    Comment by Aafke | April 16, 2010 | Reply

  2. WoooHooo! I’m so excited for you! The most liberating thing in the world is getting rid of that last cardboard box! Don’t try to do it all at once–you have plenty of time to sort the storage stuff and ask yourself “Why the heck did I save THAT?!?! My best advice is to locate the local Goodwill/Salvation Army and be generous to them.

    I’ll be thinking of you!

    Comment by momcat | April 16, 2010 | Reply

  3. so exciting! I hope the move goes smoothly – and am so happy that you are moving into your new home!

    Comment by adiamondinsunlight | April 17, 2010 | Reply

  4. I hope that every thing will be fine, Wish you the best, lots of love, XXXX

    Comment by A friend from Kuwait | April 20, 2010 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

