Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Sugar Cookies Rolled in Coconut

Sugar Cookies Rolled in Coconut

Ingredients
1 cup butter
1 cup white sugar
1 tablespoon milk
1 teaspoon vanilla extract
2 1/2 cups all-purpose flour
1 cup finely chopped red and green candied cherries
1/2 cup chopped pecans
• 1 cup flaked coconut

Directions
1. In mixing bowl beat butter or margarine until softened, add the sugar and beat until fluffy. Add the milk and vanilla and mix well.

2. Add the flour and beat until well mixed. Stir in the cherries and pecans.

3. Shape into three 7-inch long rolls. Roll in the coconut to coat.

4. Wrap in plastic wrap and chill for several hours or overnight.

5. Preheat oven to 375 degrees F.

6. Cut rolls into 1/4-inch slices and place on an ungreased cookie sheet. Bake about 12 minutes or until done. Remove to a wire rack and cool.

December 19, 2010 Posted by | Christmas, Cooking, Recipes | Leave a comment

Christmas Cookies – Check!

This is a time of the year when I count my blessings. And yes, yes, it isn’t the only time of the year, LOL, any opportunity will do, but of all the weeks in the year, the week before Christmas is my favorite.

You know me. I’m a front-loader; when there is something I need to have done, I do it right away so it doesn’t hang over me, growing daily because I am dreading doing it for having put it off. For me, just do it. Then it doesn’t have time to grow!

I will admit, I am still doing some small unavoidable wrapping, but the gifts are mostly bought and/or figured out.

Because I remember what it was to be a working wife and working mother, I volunteered to bake extra Christmas cookies, so my daughter-in law wouldn’t have to worry about it. When you don’t HAVE to do it, it’s fun!

Every year I learn something. This year – and trust me, there have been many many years of baking Christmas cookies – I (gasp) followed the instructions, and used a paintbrush to put the glaze on. Holy Smokes. HOLY Smokes. Had I known, had I trusted, my life would have been so much easier. Friends, if you are painting a glaze onto sugar cookies – use a paintbrush. It works like a charm.

Tiny Pecan Muffins:

I tried a new recipe for the Russian Teacakes; they taste delicious but I like them better when they are balls, not more like cookies:

These are new this year, and so easy I think I will do them every year. They are a sugar cookie, but you make them in rolls, chill them in the refrigerator, then slice and bake. Sooooo EASY! :-)

These are the hardest, the Rosettes, which you make one by one, standing over hot oil with a metal rod and form, but they are everyone’s favorites, and they are a family tradition, so I do them every year:

For photos of the process, and for recipes for rosettes, you can click here.

Basic Sugar Cookies

Rosettes Recipe

Russian Teacakes Recipe

December 19, 2010 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Christmas, Cooking, Cultural, Family Issues, Food, Generational, Recipes | 6 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers