Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

“You’ve Brought the Sunshine!”

As I was running errands in my old home town, people kept exclaiming on the weather, and they would say “You’ve brought the sunshine!”

They would say the same when I would come in from Kuwait and Qatar. I’ve forgotten just how grim and grey Seattle can be in the midst of January. When I arrived, I drove in a cold, steady drizzle; I’d forgotten how much fun it is to drive in the rain . . . . especially on the narrow lanes of Seattle’s freeway with water sheeting off the big trucks rushing to make their deliveries with 300 miles or so yet to go. No, I prefer the sunshine.

The first glimpse we had of sunshine was early in the morning, as the sun came up and turned the mountains pink:

Later in the day, the light changed and everything went gold:

I guess this little guy just wanted to get in my photo, and it tickles me that a part of him did:

January 20, 2011 Posted by | Beauty, Living Conditions, Seattle, Travel, Weather | 5 Comments

A Strange Bird

I have multiple bird-feeders in my backyard, which give me delight, except for the squirrels. One day last week, I had NINE squirrels in my backyard, feeding from my squirrel-proof feeders. One climbs on and slips the cage, then turns it so it spills on the ground for the others. Well, squirrels have to eat, too, but I would love to have one or two feeders strictly for the birds.

One night last week, I had a huge racoon, turning over my flower pots, looking for roots and bulbs. Huge! The area where I live is so suburban, my heart broke, I wonder where he has any habitat to call his own?

And then this guy . . . I don’t know who or what he is. He is the only one of his kind ever to show up, and it was only once. I am guessing maybe he is migratory. He might be a duck.

January 20, 2011 Posted by | Gardens, Living Conditions, Pensacola | 2 Comments

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers