Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Happy Five Year Anniversary

“How did he sound?” AdventureMan asked about our son.

I smiled.

“Actually, he sounded fine. He sounded like there is nothing in the world he wants to do more than to stay home with his sick baby.”

Everything was planned. Our son and his wife were on their way out to a special dinner, to celebrate five years of successful marriage. We were signed on to babysit, something we do with gladness. We knew how the evening would go. We arrive, HappyBaby runs shrieking with joy to AdventureMan, running right around me if I get in the way. I fix dinner, feed the HappyBaby, AdventureMan takes him down to play, then bathtime, then bed.

Not this time.

Our son called us about an hour before we were scheduled to arrive.

‘It’s all off” he said. “HappyBaby is sick, fever, lethargic. We’re just going to stay home. You can come by if you just want to hang out.”

“Oh! I’m so sorry!” I said, a little in shock. HappyBaby has been having a long spell of wellness. “I’m making spaghetti for us and HappyBaby,” I replied, “but there’s a lot. Can I bring dinner?”

He said yes. We made a salad, AdventureMan found a really good bottle of wine, we headed down. AdventureMan held HappyBaby – not so happy, very tired and a little fussy – while we dished up; I finished and held him so AdventureMan could eat. HappyBaby was fine with coming to me, his arms went around me, his little head went down on my shoulder, and it was like when he was little little, except he is so big now that I can’t sit down, or I can’t easily get up again. He’s a big boy now.

I always joke that I am the grandmother who can bore her grandson to sleep. We stood outside for a while, watching the cars go by, watching the sun set over the Bayou, and when the cool breeze started blowing I took him inside. He was so sleepy, he didn’t complain. We rocked, and I put him down in his crib, fast asleep.

It wasn’t the evening we expected. It was, for us, even better, having a relaxed time with our son and his wife, getting to put HappyBaby to sleep once again. It turned out to be a very sweet evening.

We’ve signed up to do the babysitting again when HappyBaby is well and our son and his wife can go out for that dinner. Five years of marriage is worth celebrating. We are so proud of them and the way they handle life, it’s joys and disappointments, struggles, challenges and triumphs. They are a good team, and we celebrate that they found one another and work so well together.

April 16, 2011 - Posted by | Events, Family Issues, Marriage, Pensacola, Relationships

2 Comments »

  1. Congratulations to son and daughter-in-law on their five year anniversary; wishing them a lifetime more.

    Sorry to hear HappyBaby was a SickyBaby – sounds like he got just what he needed before going to bed (Grandma/Grandpa loving!) Hope he’s better soon!

    Comment by Ken | April 16, 2011 | Reply

  2. We think he has four new teeth coming in, oh aaarrgh! Thanks for your good wishes, Ken :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | April 17, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

