Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Atlanta: Ethiopian Adventure and Macy’s

One last entry from our recent trip, a happy ending to a happy trip. This is how sweet my husband is to me.

We find Pensacola a very comfortable place to be, and have only found two things lacking. There is no Macy’s, and I do like Macy’s. There are no Ethiopian restaurants, (remember, I just read Cutting for Stone) and we like Ethiopian food. We know Atlanta has both, so we plotted our return trip with a just-enough-time-for-Ethiopian-food-and-shopping.

Isn’t life funny and wonderful? We know Atlanta has Ethiopian restaurants – several – because an almost-niece who has worked in Ethiopia lives in Atlanta, and could recommend several. Using the handy iPhone, we found a Marriott Residence Inn hidden away in a quiet neighborhood near Macy’s and not far from the Queen of Sheba. Although the hotel was full, they had a wonderful room for us, with a view of downtown Atlanta:

We found the phone number for the Queen of Sheba, called – and they were open for lunch!

When we got to the plaza where the Queen of Sheba was located, we just laughed. We were back in Kuwait!

And here is what the Queen of Sheba looks like from the outside:

Inside, daytime, the atmosphere is serene:

Nights and weekends, they have jazz and lively evenings:

We ordered the Vegetarian mix, a variety of Ethiopian vegetable/legume based dishes, a variety of tastes and heat, served on Injera, the large, pancake-like bread. When it came, it was beautiful, and it tasted as good as it looked. They gave us a tray of extra injera, and we ate almost all of it!

It was so good. SO good. We decided we would go back for dinner, after shopping. AdventureMan took me to Macy’s, and only called me twice in the hours I was looking and trying on.

Here’s the problem. I have a style, but I am terrified someone is going to recommend me for What Not to Wear, so I try to find a couple little things now and then to update my look. I have a tactic: take armsfull of clothes into the dressing room. Try on quickly. You usually can tell immediately.

Here is what you hear. “No.” “Oh, NO!” “No” “No” “No” “Hmmm, maybe” “no” “Holy Smokes, NO!” “Hmmm, maybe” etc. Then I try on the maybes, and out of twenty or thirty items, I might come out with one or two. Some young styles are just too young, some skirts just too short, some camis just too revealing. I don’t want to be one of those pathetic older women trying to be hot, I just want to look decently attractive, that’s the goal.

Meeting up hours later with AdventureMan (I know, I know, I owe him big time for this) we laugh to discover we are neither of us hungry for dinner. We decide to go back to the hotel, but dinner time comes and we are still so full from lunch that we can’t consider dinner. Even though the dishes were vegetarian, that injera must have swelled in our bellies. We can’t eat another bite!

June 10, 2011 - Posted by | Adventure, Aging, Cultural, Eating Out, ExPat Life, Experiment, Family Issues, iPhone, Kuwait, Living Conditions, Pensacola, Road Trips, Shopping | , ,

4 Comments »

  1. love this post, especially your shopping tales! that’s how I shop, too: take in 15 items, leave with one. and that’s if I’m looking for tops. when I’m shopping for jeans, trousers, or skirts, its more like: make two or three trips. for every thirty items tried, leave with one. looool.

    Comment by adiamondinsunlight | June 10, 2011 | Reply

    • The truth of it is, I pretty much hate shopping. I like particular colors, particular lines, and going outside my normal zone is almost painful, LOL! I loved living in Qatar and Kuwait where I could have my favorites copied – it totally worked for me. Now . . . sigh . . . must fine new way to cope.

      Comment by intlxpatr | June 12, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hey, so you guys had a pretty wild time in Atlanta?

    If you are still there and are fond of oysters you may want to try ‘Legal Seafood’ which is about a block away from the CNN centre. Absolutely yummilicious and they have a great patio too which you can enjoy.

    Comment by Dead Man Walking | June 12, 2011 | Reply

    • LLLOOOLL, BL, I know that is you. Oh yes, we are such wild wild people, married 38 years, and our wild time is Ethiopian food and shopping at Macy’s. You are probably sound asleep just reading about it. :-)

      Comment by intlxpatr | June 12, 2011 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers

