Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Red Robin – YUMMMMM

“I think I need a hamburger,” I said to AdventureMan as we were tucking in to bed. I can’t even remember the last time I had a hamburger, but I think it was in April, 2010, at the Red Robin in Pensacola.

Red Robin . . . YUMMM. One of the best ad campaigns in history, in my mind. Pure repetition, a little humor to re-inforce the memory, all positive. Anywhere you go in America, you can say “Red Robin” and someone will say “Yummm.”

I have a personal relationship with Red Robin. When I was a student at the University of Washington, long, long ago, the Red Robin was very near the university, near enough we could walk, even, and even though it was a bar, they weren’t very strict about carding people, and oh, they had the best burgers. It was pure comfort food. They also had a wonderful deck, so on the rare and beautiful spring days when final exams were coming and we just needed to blow off some steam, the Red Robin was one of the places we headed.

It wasn’t like the Red Robin chain. It was the original, and it was a little seedy. Here is what the original Red Robin looked like:

Yep. . . a little stoned.

Here is what he looks like now, he cleaned up good, LOL!

There were old wood floors, not the shiny kind of good wood floor, but the old fashioned cheap kind, sort of spongy when you walked on them, and usually covered with stuff that had been spilled. No, not exactly your family kind of place, it was a college student kind of place.

So for my once-in-more-than-a-year hamburger, we went to Red Robin.

Compare that to the original:

And here was my peppercorn burger:

It was YUMMMMM. Now, I won’t need another burger until September 2012 or so. :-)

Sadly, as I was looking for some photos of the original Red Robin, I learned that they closed down the original on March 21, 2010. So sad, but I suspect it just didn’t suit the image of the new, family oriented Red Robins, more than 400 of them around the USA. But they still serve a good burger.

July 5, 2011 - Posted by | Aging, Building, Cultural, Eating Out, Entertainment, Food, Generational, Health Issues, Living Conditions, Local Lore, Seattle |

4 Comments »

  1. Red Robin has a grilled salmon sandwich that is out of this world. It comes with a flavored mayonnaise, but you can order without (or on the side) and the salmon alone is just amazingly good.

    And loooool at the original robin!

    Comment by adiamondinsunlight | July 5, 2011 | Reply

  2. You know, I think I’ve had that salmon sandwich, and you are right, it was GOOD.

    I remember taking our Google cousin to the old Red Robin, you know me, I thought it was a necessary part of his cultural upbringing, but I don’t know if I took you or your sister there. It wasn’t the same. I think they used to sell drugs there, it was a very laid back, kind of Arlo Guthrie kind of place, full of characters and college students. Beer and hamburgers. NOT a family place. We don’t go often – we go to more Pensacola kind of places – but every now and then, for a nostalgia-burger . . . or a salmon sandwich :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | July 5, 2011 | Reply

  3. [...] hamburgers. In fact, I eat about one a year, and it has become a sort of tradition that I go to the Red Robin around the Fourth of July for my annual hamburger quota. Like, if you’re going to do it, do [...]

    Pingback by Does the Surf Burger on Pensacola Beach Rock? « Here There and Everywhere | July 15, 2012 | Reply

  4. […] it has to be a really really good one. I got hooked on Red Robin burgers back in university; then, Red Robin was really a college beer joint that served really good burgers.  I ordered the A-1 Peppercorn Burger, but when it came, it came on some kind of a roll not the […]

    Pingback by Once-A-Year Burger at Red Robin’s « Here There and Everywhere | July 12, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 401 other followers

