Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Ballet Pensacola Does Dracula

A good friend invited us to the Pensacola Ballet when we were newly arrived, not once, but twice. My friends ask in amazement “Pensacola has a ballet?” “We do, indeed!” I respond, “and they have had a ballet for years!”

The first ballet I saw in Pensacola was The Nutcracker. Who could not love The Nutcracker? I’m never sick of it, every year I see it is a little different. I have my favorites, but I always enjoy The Nutcracker.

The second ballet we went attended was WAY more avant garde. They did a ballet about the African American South, and I totally loved it. It was breathtaking, and innovative, with drums and intense music. I was impressed.

When I saw this years schedule, we bought season tickets. Dracula. Imagine! I can hardly wait to see what they do with this.

DRACULA
Ballet Pensacola’s season will open in dramatic fashion with a gripping performance of Dracula based on the 1897 novel by Irish author Bram Stoker. Wear your best costume to experience an updated take on the world’s most famous vampire.

Friday, October 21, 2011 at 7 p.m.
Saturday, October 22, 2011 at 7 p.m.
Saturday, October 22, 2011 at 11 p.m.

Single ticket prices are $18 – $30 (plus applicable fees) and are available now by calling the Pensacola Cultural Center Box Office at 850.432.2042.

Also join us for drinks and hors d’oeuvres at the Transylvanian Throwdown Saturday, October 22 at 9:30 p.m. in the Atrium of the Pensacola Cultural Center. Tickets are $10. For more information, please call 850.432.9546 or visit http://www.balletpensacola.com.

Generously Sponsored By
Emerald Coast Smiles by Design | Hancock Bank

Media Sponsors
Cox Communications | WUWF | Independent News | Ballinger Publishing

Update 21 October 2011: We saw Dracula tonight. We were not disappointed. While I enjoy the campy Vamps on True Blood, the vampires imagined by Bram Stoker were creepy, subhuman creatures, degrading with every century. From the opening, the Pensacola Ballet Corps caught it perfectly. The vampires were hungry, and spidery, and tumbled around on stage like the sub-humans they are. The bats streaked and twittered. The ‘brides’ leered at the audience, and Dracula was louche and hypnotically seductive, but in a very creepy way.

As usual, the costuming was brilliant.

October 12, 2011 Posted by | Arts & Handicrafts, Beauty, Entertainment, Events, Pensacola | 5 Comments

Jungle Bell Rock in Kuwait :-)

If you remember, the Qatari Cat is a former street cat, a rescue cat. I wish I could be there to support this wonderful event and the good work that K’s Path in Kuwait is doing. They have some illustrious sponsors, and a host of great volunteers supporting their efforts.

October 12, 2011 Posted by | Charity, Cultural, Entertainment, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Leadership, Living Conditions, Qatteri Cat, Social Issues | Leave a comment

“The Circle of Death”

Every now and then, AdventureMan and I are talking about life issues, and I will say something about it all being a part of the Circle of Life, and he, ever the cynic, will say “That’s another way of saying The Circle of Death.” It makes me laugh when he says it, but it sort of illustrates a difference in the way we think. I anticipate a happy outcome – and for the most part, I may go through some unhappiness, but the outcome is generally happy. AdventureMan anticipates the worst outcome, and is always happily suprised when things come out well. :-)

Today, I don’t know how he is going to handle the circle.

His first chrysalllis was set around last Saturday, i.e. a fat caterpillar crawled off the milkweed where he had been born and had feasted a couple weeks. He became a bright, shiny green drop, but you could sort of see where his feet used to be, and you could watch things happening inside, like wings starting to form.

We don’t know where some of the catarpillars went. We know there were six or seven, and maybe some of them crawled off to cryssalize somewhere else. The second chrysallis was malformed; we knew it wasn’t going to turn into a butterfly. Maybe it was a normal defect, maybe a bird had pecked it or a wasp had laid an egg inside.

Yesterday, we watched the third caterpillar who had attached. Just an hour and a half after this photo was taken, he turned into that bright green container that the first had turned into.

As I was fixing dinner, I could swear I saw the first chrysallis moving, and I thought it was hatching, but AM thinks I was just imagining something, and that might be.

Today, both the deformed chrysallis and the two perfect chrysallis are gone. I saw a small bird on the wheelbarrow yesterday, and it might be that the birds like to feast on the chrysallis.

Poor AdventureMan. His babies got run over by the circle of death. (I prefer to think that the first one hatched into a Monarch butterfly, but it is unlikely that is what happened to the other two, so this time, this one rare occasion, AdventureMan may be right . . . )

October 12, 2011 Posted by | Adventure, Experiment, Gardens, Living Conditions, Pensacola | Leave a comment

   

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 398 other followers