Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Flying Out of Pensacola International Airport

No. No, there are not any flights to any cities outside the United States. I thought there was a rule! I remember other small airports that called themselves “international” but they always had at least one flight like to Mexico, or some Caribbean island . . . I didn’t know you could name an airport Pensacola INTERNATIONAL Airport just because you thought it sounded cool. Guess the joke is on me.

(Have you noticed how much more dominant blue bulbs are now? They used to just fade into obscurity, but now they are brilliant. These trees decorate Pensacola International Airport.)

So as I check in – at the curbside, YES! I am appreciating how much easier flying is when you are not flying to Kuwait or Qatar, or even Germany. You can drop your luggage right at the curb, you already have your boarding passes; you checked in and printed them at home (none of this is possible if you are flying to the Middle East) so you can go straight to your gate . . . oh yeh, forgot, you still have to go through security.

There is a LONG line and I overhear one of the security guards say to a Pensacola friend “Yeh, you can’t just get here an hour before your flight any more and expect to catch your flight . . . ” and I am thinking “Holy Smokes! I thought getting there an hour before your flight was overkill in Pensacola!”

As soon as I get through security (no more ‘special’ treatment, now that I am not flying to Kuwait or Qatar, no more pat downs, no more extra questions) I get to my flight, which is already boarding, and both my flights, early early on a Sunday morning are PACKED, every seat is booked. I cannot imagine.

The good news is that every flight leaves on time, lands on time, and the flights are uneventful. I love ‘uneventful.’

I find that I don’t get as much reading done as I used to when I was flying two, three, four times a year from the Middle East to Seattle. I used to be able to read three or four books in each direction, now I am down to one book and maybe a little Sudoku.

Beautiful flight:

When we get near Seattle, you can see five mountains in a row, from Mount Rainier looking south, including the remains of Mount Saint Helens. The weather in Seattle is cool and brisk, my car is waiting and the roads out Edmonds are clear and dry, Wooo HOOOOO!

December 7, 2011 - Posted by | Adventure, Beauty, ExPat Life, Kuwait, Middle East, Qatar, Random Musings, Seattle, Travel, Words

6 Comments »

  1. I flew into Pensacola once during flight school…it was my first airport that big to fly into – we usually just go into the little puddle-jumper airports. It seemed so huge at the time, but compared to other “international” airports, it was TINY!

    Comment by Emma | December 7, 2011 | Reply

  2. Hi Emma! Pensacola Airport is pretty small. There is a lot of amusement at the recent name change, especially when there are no flights going out of country; it’s a little pretentious, or maybe just hopeful :-)

    Some of our favorite flights have been in Africa, where the ‘airport’ is a tarp on four poles, and they have to run the antelope, giraffe, or even lions off the field before our plane can take off. :-)

    Comment by intlxpatr | December 7, 2011 | Reply

  3. My favorite was the Maracaibo, VE apt. Pilot taxied on to the military run way, realized what he had done, drove the plan across the grass medium, got stuck, rocks flew up on the wing, then took off.

    Comment by CAW | February 20, 2012 | Reply

  4. LOL, CAW, I had to look up Maricaibo; I’ve never been to our Central American or South American countries. Dying laughing @ the pilot, his mistake, his embarrassment, his correction . . .

    It’s scary flying on airlines which hire on the basis of being affiliated, rather than having merit, like having pilot training, having experience, etc . . . I would never fly Kuwait airlines for that very reason. It was even reported in the newspapers, but no one did anything about it.

    Comment by intlxpatr | February 20, 2012 | Reply

  5. Pensacola International Airport is a joke! There are no international flights, no customs or immigration, no nothing that makes it an international airport except the name.

    Comment by Oldsurfer | July 14, 2012 | Reply

  6. Yes! Exactly! It’s hilarious! I guess some politicians hope saying something will make it true.

    Comment by intlxpatr | July 14, 2012 | Reply


Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 397 other followers

