Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

League of Women Voters

My friends and I had an animated conversation about Florida politics as we sat around the table having a late breakfast at Adonna’s Bakery, down on Palafox in Pensacola. We were explaining how in the last election, if it were not for the voters handbook the League of Women Voters published, explaining exactly what a yes or no vote would mean for each proposed amendment, Florida would be stuck with constitutional amendments voters never intended to approve.

00LWVMeeting

The League of Women Voters cuts through all the baloney and explains the issues, clearly and objectively. Without their clear, cool voice of reason, voters would be blown to and fro by the turbulent election rhetoric which blows at hurricane force during each election in Florida, obscuring the clearest issues. The League is neither liberal nor conservative, but contains members of all parties. Their goal is getting people to vote, and to understand the issue on which people are voting.

So grown up. So mature. So wise and clear sighted. Way too grown up for me, all these years, until, after that conversation, one of these friends sent me an invitation she had received for an upcoming League of Women Voters annual luncheon. As an added attraction, a local NPR reporter would be the speaker.

00DebbieRichards

I hate meetings. It brings out the ADD child in me; I fidget, I wish I were anywhere but in the meeting.

And yet . . . this is a group I have long admired, and I want to support them. So I agreed, and we attended.

It was so much fun. These women – and men, about a fifth of the attendees were men – are people focused on ISSUES. They have study groups for how juveniles in the local area are arrested and treated in our jails and custodial facilities. They have groups which study the impact on the environment of legislative and local government decisions. They go to civic meetings, speak out, and report back to the League. This is a group of people who take positions and recommend actions! Exciting stuff.

You know I am a believer, so I might see things differently from you, or others, but I met some really cool members, people I believe I was meant to meet. One said wonderful things about my son as he practices his profession. There is no Mother’s Day gift on earth that means as much as the words she spoke, praising his ethics and integrity.

An elderly man sitting next to me was leaving this week to go to Heidelberg.

“Are you going for the closing down?” I asked, and told him I had graduated from Heidelberg American high school, lo, these many years ago. “Yes,” he replied, he has family who have lived there many years, and he has been back many times. It led to a discussion around the table, where I discovered two other women who had been in DoDs schools in Germany. What an unexpected blessing!

Every now and then, as you lead your life, you get the feeling you are exactly where you are meant to be at this very moment, and I had that feeling as I left the meeting. I am so thankful for the serendipity that led me there, and for the rush of blessings the meeting provided.

LOL, the group I thought might be stuffy and staid played this wonderful Lady Gaga video:

May 27, 2013 - Posted by | Adventure, Aging, Bureaucracy, Character, Civility, Cultural, Events, Florida, Friends & Friendship, Heritage, Interconnected, Leadership, Living Conditions, Pensacola, Relationships

2 Comments »

  1. Good for you! I very much appreciated the League’s booklet during the election and showed it to some friends. I marked it all up and filled in my sample ballot from it–and I was still in the booth for way too long with two little kids running all over the place like maniacs. Couldn’t have done it without those folks.

    Comment by The Episcolic | May 29, 2013 | Reply

  2. For me, it was like reading a mystery. What I had thought the amendments were about were not what the amendments appeared to be about at all. I felt so thankful to the LWV for taking the time to study these amendments, write an objective analysis of them, and print a booklet for those of us who are lazy and don’t do so much research. Wooo Hooo LWV.

    I was also delighted to see they were all active, young-in-spirit, mixed ages, mixed sexes and spirited. I was glad I finally signed up. I’m particularly impressed by the thirty-somethings in charge of the group. Wooo HOOOO!

    Comment by intlxpatr | May 29, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

