Here There and Everywhere

Expat wanderer

Breath of Fresh Air in Seattle

Miss me?

I’ve been in Seattle for a truly grand event, my Mother’s 90th Birthday. She was queen for almost a week, with visitors and well wishers and a smashing party with friends and family and faces she has known and loved for years – many many people.

When I arrived in Seattle it was cool and cloudy and everyone told me how sad it was that I had missed the glorious weather they have had for weeks. Coming in from the airport I was shocked to see all the scorched grass; it looked more like California than green green Seattle.

I wasn’t sad to miss the warm sunshine at all. I have all of that I need in Pensacola. What I loved, from the moment I arrived, was the fresh air.

Seattle smells good. Seattle smells like mown grass, and flowers, lush flowers everywhere. Youcan drive with your windows open. I slept with my window open, and when it got COLD in the middle of the night, I used a BLANKET! This is the best luxury for me, cool weather, fresh air, cool breezes, even a little thunder and lightning and rain.

The days were warm and sunny, and the nights were cool and fresh. I was in heaven.

It wasn’t that I forgot about you – I have all kinds of material – but blogging with the iPad just doesn’t work for me. It’s fine for picking up e-mail and checking the news and playing a game or two, but it isn’t a real computer, with real capabilities. If blogging gets to technical, I’m not going to do it, life is too short. I love WordPress for making life so easy, making it so easy to put in all the photos I want, easy easy easy. I just had too much going on, and didn’t have time to fiddle. The iPad just doesn’t do it for me. I wish I had a computer small enough to just stuff in my purse like the iPad, I wish I didn’t have to pull the computer out of my purse, like the iPad. The iPad is convenient, better than slogging a lot of books on the plane with me, but . . . What I really want is an iPad sized computer . . .

Home again, on the flight in the pilots must have mentioned the heat and humidity in Pensacola six times. Ahhh . . . .for those sweet cool breezes and cool nights . . .

August 5, 2013 - Posted by | Aging, Blogging, ExPat Life, Family Issues, Living Conditions, Relationships, Seattle, Weather

6 Comments »

  1. Congrats to your mom. We celebrate my mil’s 100th birthday in AZ in Sept. She’s independent and remarkable (lives alone in home of 65 years)–hope your mom is too. As a far-away-living (NY) child who travels a lot, I often blog from afar using my MacBook Air (under 3 lbs). Fits in my Baggallini purse (TJMax purchase)– light and travel-friendly. And I totally get Seattle….I’m in Portland, Oregon now!

    Comment by susan | August 6, 2013 | Reply

  2. Hello, Susan 🙂 and welcome. I loved living in Qatar, but in the summer, Qatar smelled like cheese that had gone really really bad. Kuwait often smelled like sulpher; people said it meant there was gas erupting into the air somewhere but the papers never mentioned it and air quality reports were non-existent. Pensacola is glorious late October through even as late as May, but oh, the summer, even life long Pensacolians stay inside and away from the heat. The low temp last night in P’cola was 79° – and oh, I long for those cool, piney breezes.

    My Mom is in assisted living. She needs to be closely monitored, but is still relatively independent, and one staff member told me my Mom is one of the fashionistas – did not surprise me in the least.

    Thanks for the good info on the Air. Maybe I will look at that next 🙂

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 6, 2013 | Reply

  3. Saw your pic…everyone looked so happy, and your mom radiated happiness. Long live the Queen!

    Comment by Grammy | August 6, 2013 | Reply

    • LLOOOLLL! On her family birthday, she wore the crown!

      Comment by intlxpatr | August 6, 2013 | Reply

  4. Mashallah 90 years . Wishing your mom a very happy birthday and many returns .

    happy Eid (most likely this coming Thursday to you and the family .

    Comment by daggero | August 7, 2013 | Reply

  5. Mashallah indeed, Daggero! Thank you! And wishing you and your family a happy happy feast and time together in peace and harmony and abundance 🙂

    Comment by intlxpatr | August 7, 2013 | Reply


Leave a Reply

